'Enact law to motivate youths, women into farming'

Date: 2019-12-06

A coalition of non-governmental organisations has called on the Federal Government to enact a new agricultural law that will motivate youths and women into farming.

It said this should be the priority of the Federal Executive Council and members of the National Assembly.

According to the group, which consists of the Cultural and Societal Values Development Initiatives, Moringa Development Association of Nigeria and Ruminants and Livestock Cooperatives Society, the law should facilitate the establishment of a scheme that will be funded with one per cent deductions from Value Added Tax and 10 per cent deductions from the constituency project fund and the River Basin Development Authority.

The call was contained in a statement in Ilorin on Thursday signed by the group's Coordinator and Consultant, Prof. Samuel Ibiyemi, and Dr Kayode Ige, which was made available to journalists.

The NGO advised that farms should be made to give priority attention to the planting of moringa and thevetia trees as Green Belt to control climate change. This would be in tandem with international call to check climate change in order to reduce its future catastrophic effects on humanity, it stated.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Saheed Popoola     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Shaaba Lafiagi     Amusa Bello     Arinola Lawal     Usman Rifun     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Tunji Oyawoye     Christopher Ayeni     Kwara Poly     Issa Manzuma     AIT Ilorin     Amoyo     Buari Edun     Adijat Adebiyi     NTA Ilorin     Mohammed Lawal     Ayinde Oyepitan     Quran     Mohammed Abdulahi     Maigidasanma     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     Ilorin     Olatunji Moronfoye     Hassan Abdulazeez Elewu     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Mufutau Olatinwo     Saka Abimbola Isau     Kaiama     Haashim Initiative For Community Advancement     Yusuf Ali     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     CKNG     Plat Technologies Limited     NURTW     Ijagbo Health Centre     Habeeb Saidu     Kwara Hotel     Oba Sulaiman Asude     CCT     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Ajeigbe     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Aiyedun     Omupo     Societe Generale Bank Of Nigeria     Abdul Jimoh Mohammed     Kwha.gov.ng     Mumeen Lah     Tunji Moronfoye     Muritala Awodun     Elekoyangan     Akom Construction And Engineering Synergy Ltd     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Adegoke Bamidele     Iqra Books     Musa Abdullahi     Lanre Olosunde     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Galland Marcias     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Manzuma     Oniwa     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Elewu     Code Of Conduct Bureau     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Baboko     Jimoh Saadudeen Muhammed     Sebastine Obasi     Amasa     Kunbi Titiloye     Durbar     Lanre Issa-Onilu     CUTI     Ayo Opadokun