Rainstorm blows off parts of Kwara Assembly building

Date: 2019-04-17

No fewer than five offices belonging to Kwara State lawmakers, a part of the administrative block, including the Office of the Clerk and a hall under construction, have been damaged by rainstorm at the Kwara House of Assembly in Ilorin.

Some of the affected offices and a hall under construction in the Assembly premises had their roofs completely blown off by the storm.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the damage by the rainstorm did not, however, disrupt Tuesday's plenary of the House as the hallowed chambers was not affected.

The Speaker, Dr. Ali Ahmad, told newsmen after inspecting the damaged offices in company of some members, described the havoc caused by the rainstorm as "unfortunate."

Ahmad said the Assembly would write to the Executive arm to carry out the repair work on the damaged offices from the capital expenditure in the 2019 budget of the state government.

He noted that the monthly subventions to the House cannot cater for the repair work and urged the state government to expedite action on the rehabilitation of the affected offices.

The Speaker called on the state government to provide immediate succour to hundreds of residents in some parts of the llorin metropolis whose houses and valuables were damaged by rainstorm on Monday evening.

Some other areas damaged by rainstorm in llorin, the state capital, included Amilengbe, Sango, Ode Alfa-Nda, Agbarere and Ojuekun, among others.

Several of the effected residents who are still counting their losses are now taking refuge with neighbours not effected in several parts of the llorin metropolis.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Musibau Akanji     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Awili Pedro     Kwarareports.com     Offa     Oyawoye     KWASAA     Akande Idowu Ayoola Muhammed     Ojo Fadumila     Funmi Salau     Atunwa     Maja     Muritala Awodun     AbdulRauf Keji     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Abdullahi Atanda     Ijagbo Health Centre     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     Age AbdulKareem     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Umar Sanda Yusuf     CCT     Omotosho     Abdulrahman Abdulrazak     Shao     Mahfouz Adedimeji     Afolayan     IEDPU     Abdulhakeem Amao     Hassan Oyeleke     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Na'Allah     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Maryam A. Garuba     Labaeka     Musa Alhassan Buge     Ilorin West     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Haliru Yahaya     Alanamu     Ramat Oganija     Oba Abdulraheem     Biliaminu Aliu     Abdulfatai Ahmed     EFCC     Abikan     Women For Change And Development Initiative     Guber Aspirant     Ajakaye     Playing Host     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Ifelodun     Yinka Aluko     IF-K     Suleiman Abubakar     Olatunji Moronfoye     Muhammed Abdullahi     Bayo Ajia     Alikinla     Salihu Yahaya     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     CUTI     Village Alive Development Association     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     08001000100     Sulyman Buhari     Economic And Financial Crimes Commission     Abdulrasheed Na'Allah     School Of Nursing     Tunji Moronfoye     Ola Falade     Code Of Conduct Tribunal     Suleiman Idris     Cornelius Adebayo     Hassan Saliu