Kwara 2019: Atunwa promises to promote state, LG synergy if elected

Date: 2018-10-25

The Kwara State governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in next year’s election, Hon. Razak Atunwa has promised to foster synergy between the state and local government councils if given the mandate come February 2019. Atunwa, a lawmaker representing Asa/Ilorin West federal constituency in the National Assembly made the pledge while playing host to the forum of Former Local Government Council Chairmen in the state, who came to congratulate him on his emergence as the gubernatorial candidate of the PDP at his residence in Ilorin.

The lawmaker who expressed delight during the meeting noted that ongoing efforts of the National Assembly members to place local administration in proper perspectives as the third tier of government. While tracing the history of local government administration in Nigeria, Atunwa noted that robust management of the councils to meet its goal will promote socio-economic development at the grassroots.

He also described individual members of the forum as friends and acquaintances of traditional rulers, community leaders and opinion holders in their respective councils and appealed to them to use the exalted position to vigorously campaign for the party for its candidates at various levels to emerge victorious in next year's general election.

Responding, the spokespersons of the forum from the three senatorial districts in the state, Barrister Sikirullah Solagberu, Hon. Bisi Oloruntoba and Hon. James Kolo congratulated Atunwa on his victory at the primary election even as they promised to work assiduously for his success and that of other candidates of the party.

They therefore appealed to the state government to see local governments as partners in progress to enable it deliver on its mandate in order to enhance overall development of the people at that tier of government.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Abdulkadir Orire     Rasaq Jimoh     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Musa Ayinla Yeketi     Ahmed Bayero     Demola Banu     Kwara 2019     Musa Yeketi     Share/Tsaragi     MAI Akande     Fulani     Gambari     Omu-aran     Femi Gbajabiamila     Ayotunde Emmanuel Alao     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Salihu Yahaya     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Senate President     Hijab     Abdulwasiu Bolaji Adeyi     Agbarere     Amos Justus Sayo     KWASIEC     Musibau Akanji     Ilorin Muslim Community     Ali Ahmad     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Yakub Lai Gobir     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Post Utme     Muritala Awodun     Niyi Osundare     Saidu Isa     Nurudeen Muhammed     Isau     Ayegbeni     Yakubu Shaaba     Police Commissioner     Baboko     Taibat Ayinke Ahmed     Haliru Yahaya     Manzuma     Akanbi-Oke     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Ahmed     Ibrahim Gambari     Saidu Kawu     Firdaos Amasa     Henry Olaosebikan     Bashirat Bola Bello     Sherif Shagaya     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Gbugbu     Transition Implementation Committee     Yoonus Lawal     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Bature Bello     Alapado     Kwara Politics     Gobirawa     Chief Of Staff     Alloy Chukwuemeka     Ahmad Lawan     NURTW     Oko     Sarah Jubril     Kwara     Saliu Alamoyo     CBT     Nupe     Alagbado     Quareeb     Bilikisu Gambari     Sheriff Shagaya     Local Government     Lanre Issa-Onilu