Kwara Reiterates Commitment To Teaching Of Core Subjects In Schools

Date: 2018-08-07

The Kwara State government has restated its commitment to the teaching and learning of English Language and Mathematics as core subjects in secondary schools.

The state commissioner for Education and Human Capital Development, Hajia Bilikisu Oniyangi gave the assurance yesterday while speaking at the grand finale of the maiden edition of Kwara State Inter Secondary Schools English and Mathematics competition organised by a nongovernmental organisation, Saliu Mustapha Foundation in collaboration with the Kwara State government.

The commissioner who spoke through the director, School Services of the Ministry, Mr Timothy Oyewole, stressed the importance of English Language and Mathematics in both basic and secondary schools, describing the two subjects as the core of every discipline which are peculiar requisite for admission into tertiary institutions.

While speaking on factors responsible for failure of students in these two core subjects, Hajia Oniyangi traced them to lackadaisical attitudes on the part of the students, and exposure to information gadgets especially mobile phones which have affected time for studying.

She said the state government provided enough teachers for both English and Mathematics in all public schools in the state, charging the teachers to be more proactive in the discharge of their respective duties.

While delivering a lecture on the theme of the competition "Investment in Education, the Solution to all problems ", the immediate past director of the Centre for International Studies, University of Ilorin, Prof Mohammed Ibrahim, called for more investment into the educational sector, saying that the current investment is abysmally low which must be increased to reinvigorate the sector.

Ibrahim also advocated the need for training and retraining of teachers of the core subjects, while asking the students to be more focused and devote more time for their education by avoiding anything that could cause distractions.

Earlier, the spokesman of the Foundation, Mallam Mahmood Olayinka Alaya, had earlier disclosed that 30 students qualified for the grand finale of the competition with sixty schools that participated in the competition across the three senatorial districts of the state.

While speaking with Journalists, the founder of the Foundation, Mallam Saliu Mustapha, said the foundation was established to touch the lives of downtrodden people in the society, the students and those with different health challenges.

Mustapha noted that the foundation aimed to impact on the lives of the people in the immediate environment, saying that government alone should not be saddled with the responsibility of providing the needs of the people, hence the need for nongovernmental organisations, wealthy individuals to support government at all levels in this directive.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Akume     Galland Marcias     Ilorin Emirate     Obuh     Moses Adekanye     Idi-Ape     Lanre Issa-Onilu     Elelu     Suleiman Idris     Mashood Dauda     Haliru Yahaya     Monkey Pox     Issa Oloruntogun     Muhammadu Buhari     Malete     Bankole Omisore     Wasiu Odewale     Police Commissioner     Illyasu Abdullahi     Bayo Ajia     Isaac Gbenle     Boko Haram     Omoniyi Ayinla     Lanre Issa Onilu     Isaac Aderemi Kolawole     Amuda Musbau     Gbemi Saraki     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Yusuf Ali     Umar Ahmed Gunu     Raimi Iyanda     Quran     Ilota     Ishola Abdullahi     Ogbondoroko     Age AbdulKareem     Suleiman Abubakar     Salihu Yahaya     Dele Momodu     Ilorin Muslim Community     Sheikh Alimi     Sobi FM     Hamza Usman     Saidu Yaro Musa     Unilorin FM     Ajayi Okasanmi     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Tosho Yaqub     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Muhammadu Gobir     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Modibo Kawu     George Innih     Matthew Babaoye     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Abubakar Baba     Kawu     Kunle Suleiman     Modibbo Kawu     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Abikan     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     Shaaba Lafiagi     Segun Adeniyi     Kayode Zubair     Sarakite     Oloje     Abdulrahman Abdulrasak     Sherif Shagaya     Apaokagi     IFK     Olayinka Olaogun     Rotimi Atere     Bio Ibrahim     BIR