Kwara APC hails Judiciary As Supreme Court Frees Saraki

Date: 2018-07-07
The All Progressives Congress in Kwara State has hailed the judicial arm of government as the Supreme Court has finally laid to rest the trial of a Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, on assets declaration and sundry charges instituted against him before the Code of Conduct Tribunal.

In a press statement issued on Friday by its publicity secretary, Alhaji Sulyman Buhari, the party described the judgement as victory for democracy and landmark verdict on the incorruptible credentials of the Senate President.

We received with excitement the news that a five -man panel of the Supreme Court led by Justice Dattijo Muhammad unanimously dismissed the remnant three counts and declared the evidence led by the prosecution as hearsay.

Kwara APC wishes to declare that the landmark judgement of the Supreme Court is consistent with the belief and expectation of the Kwara State chapter of our party.

We recall that the torturous political persecution of our leader, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki began in 2015 because he dared to contest for the position of Senate President against the desires of some political leaders in the All Progressives Congress. All manners of extra-judicial strategies and unconstitutional measures were deployed to humiliate and remove the Senate President from office. We thank Almighty Allah for his victory and we congratulate the Senate President for this hard-won victory.

Importantly, we will not forget to acknowledge the fact that the judiciary demonstrated its independence and capacity to exercise uprightness and forthrightness when politicians attempted to manipulate the Court to settle political scores.

During the course of the political persecution, Kwara APC once had reasons to declare that no political party ever survived war waged against self. Indeed, It is now clear that the bond of unity and cohesion in the APC has been weakened, damaged, fractured and severed.

As a party, our deepest gratitude goes to Distinguished Senators of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the entire institution of the National Assembly for standing firmly with the Senate President while the political persecution lasted. We also commend all lovers of democracy and believers of rule of law for standing on the side of rule of law and democracy during the political persecution period. Importantly, we extend our appreciation to all members of APC in Kwara State and the good people of Kwara State for keeping fate with the Senate President. To all of you, thank you.

Finally, as a party, we wish to reiterate our unconditional loyalty to the leadership of the Senate President, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, CON.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Aliyu Salihu     Ilorin International Airport     Ilorin East     Nupe     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     LAK Jimoh     UITH     Unilorin     Village Alive Development Association     Kwara State Government     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Ubandawaki     Jalala     Eruku     Kwara Restoration Project     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     CUTI     Adamu Attah     KWASAA     Patigi Regatta     Mustapha Olanipekun     Iqra Books     Igbaja     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Oye Tinuoye     Aminat Omodara     Balogun Fulani     Olatunji Ibrahim     Iyabo Adewuyi     Abubakar Aliagan     Agbarere     Moronfoye     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Ibrahim Abduquadri Abikan     Adegoke Bamidele     Federal Polytechnic Offa     BIR     Offa     Radio Kwara     Aminat Ahmed     Ayeni     Ike Ekweremadu     Moses Adekanye     Ilorin Water Reticulation     Ishola Abdullahi     Kannike     AbdulHamid Adi     Christopher Ayeni     Alao Ayotunde     Sam Okaula     Mohammed Halidu     Omoniyi Ayinla     Elerinjare     Abdulkarim Adisa     Bankole Omisore     Oyun     Lanwa     Usman Rifun     Segun Adeniyi     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Abdulrahman Iliasu     Odo-Owa     Susan Modupe Oluwole     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Toyin Saraki     Tsaragi-Share     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Yusuf Abdulwahab     KSIRS     Saka Asiat Ayinke     Amosa     Boko Haram     Bilikis Oladimeji     KFA