Prominent Kwara Indigenes Back IGP Over Transfer Of Cult Suspects To Abuja

Date: 2018-05-29

Some prominent indigenes of Kwara have expressed their support for the Inspector General of Police, Ibrahim Idris, over the transfer of suspected cultists arrested in Ilorin to Abuja for further interrogation.

The indigenes, who spoke under the auspices of Kwara Liberation Group, made their position known on Monday in Ilorin at a press conference addressed by their leader, Dr Amuda Aluko.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that KLG is a socio-political organisation with zero tolerance for corruption.

The group said the police had not acted contrary to the law on the transfer of the suspects to Abuja.

It said: "The KLG wishes to make it clear to the public that the police have not in any way transgressed their limit by the transfer of the arrested cultists to the Force Headquarters in Abuja. "Similar transfer had occurred in the past which included the Oro-Ago Fulani/Farmer crisis, Share/Tsaragi crises, Alapa crises and the recent robbery attack in Offa, to mention but few." It expressed surprise that the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, and Gov. Abdulfatai Ahmed, had objected to the police action "as if this was happening for the first time in Kwara".

KLG advised Saraki to allow the police to do their work and stop impeding the investigation process. It said: "The alarm raised by the Senate President and the Governor alleging that the IGP intends to incriminate them, and pre-empting the likely consequence of the action while the investigation is on-going is very ridiculous.

"Yhe question is what is the concern of the Senate President and the Governor in this case? "Why have they not made a noise before now, especially on similar cases reported above? Their actions draw us to the plausible conclusion that they have a lot to fear in this matter.

"KLG commends the position of President Muhammadu Buhari on the case so far. We believe he is a man of his words and he will allow justice to prevail. "To the IGP, this is a trial on the personality of the Nigerian Police. We pray Allah to guide you as you protect lives and property in Nigeria."

NAN reports that hundreds of residents besieged the venue of the press conference carrying placards with various inscriptions.

Some of the placards read: "IGP, expose serial killers and their sponsors in Kwara State," "Enough of killings of innocent souls in Kwara," and "IGP must expose their godfathers”.

The conference was attended by representatives of about 25 political parties in Kwara led by Abdulmumuni Onagun, the Chairman of the Inter-Party Advisory Council.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Medview Airlines     AbdulRauf Keji     Share/Tsaragi     Ramadan     Adesoye     Ogbondoroko     Hajj     Gobir     Oyun     Tayo Alao     Jalala     Ashiru     Offa Poly     Musa Yeketi     Jamiu Oyawoye     Al-Adaby     Saheed Popoola     Erubu Oba Zubair     Ojo Fadumila     Yoonus Lawal     Ilorin International Airport     Goodluck Jonathan     Rafiu Olasile     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Rueben Parejo     Code Of Conduct     Ajibike Katibi     George Funsho Adebayo     Magaji Are     Oluranti Idowu     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Ayeni     Amuda Aluko     Ahman Patigi     Hamidu Olowo     Kwara United     Kola Shittu     Umar Sanda Yusuf     Ahmad Uthman     Abubakar Suleiman     Tafida Of Kaiama     Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq     Omoniyi M. Ayinla     Belgore     Gabriel Fashanu     Ajayi Okasanmi     Surajudeen Akanbi     JAAC     IDPU     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Ibrahim Abiodun     Elelu     Bashirat Bola Bello     Ayedun     Abdulraheem Olesin     Danladi     Kayode Ogunlowo     Ilofa     AbdulHamid Adi     Adijat Adebiyi     Ijagbo Health Centre     Kazeem Adekanye     Tunji Arosanyin     Innocent Okoye     Sadiq Umar     Alfa Modibbo Belgore     Alapado     Clara Nwachukwu     Gbenga Olawepo     Moses Adekanye     John Obuh     Saadu Alanamu     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Yusuf Ali     Jaigbade Alao     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu