Iloffa/Odo-Owa Clash: KWSG sets-up another 7-man peace c'ttee

Date: 2017-10-10

...Emir of Ilorin, Kaiama, Olofa, AG, others make list Fresh revelations emerged last night that the Kwara State Government has constituted another set of 7-man peace committee following the recommendation of the Judicial Panel of Enquiry earlier instituted to look into the remote cause of the recent Iloffa/Odo-Owa clash in Oke-Ero local government of the state. Recall that the judiciary panel which was headed the Kwara State Chief Judge, Sulieman Kawu that looked in to the remote causes of the crisis and also make recommendations

Speaking on the issue, sources who confided in this medium stated that the state government has constituted another 7-man panel whose responsibility is to look into implementation of the over 37 recommendations submitted by the panel of enquiry.

The sources further disclosed that the committee is made up of personalities of proven records to ensure effective implementation of the recommendations. The committee is led by the Chairman, Kwara State Traditional Council and the Emir of Ilorin, Alhaji Ibrahim Sulu Gambari.

“The final position of the state government on the issue is to ensure that about 37 recommendations presented in white papers are implemented. This will go a long way in averting future occurrence.

"Apart from the Emir of Ilorin who heads the panel, the committee also include the Emir of Kaima, Alhaji Muazu Omar, the Oloffa of Offa, Oba Muftau Gbadamosi Esuwoye, the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Barr. Kamaldeen Ajibade, a Permanent Secretary and one Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN).” Speaking further, the source said there has been no date fixed for the first sitting of the committee.

"When the panel will commence sitting is unknown as members last week received their appointment letters.

"This type of committee is not always made public like the earlier one that was constituted. Reason is their responsibilities differ and the latter is very sensitive," the source further disclosed.

Recall that the crisis that broke out between Odo-Owa and Iloffa claimed no fewer than four lives with about 26 buildings razed and other property worth millions of naira destroyed.

Upon the recommendations of the Panel of Enquiry, the Oloota of Odo-Owa, Oba Joshua Adeyemi Adimula and the Aloffa of Iloffa, Oba Samuel Niyi Dada were restricted from attending functions and stepping out of their domains. In addition, the monarchs were to be denied three months salaries but the sanction was reviewed and relaxed last week following the intervention of the Emir of Ilorin.

Speaking on behalf of the Emir, the palace spokesperson and Mogaji Nda of Ilorin, Alhaji Soliu Woru Mohammed said the intervention his principal was timely, describing him as a father to all.

“The Emir intervened because he is a father to all. The government that meted the punishment out has its reason, and is to serve as corrective measures and not to kill them,” he said.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ahmad Ali     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Sebastine Obasi     Amoyo     CCT     Elelu     Plat Technologies     Ilofa     Biliaminu Aliu     Alagbado     Salihu Jibril Garbi     Adegoke Bamidele     Tinubu     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Ishaq Oloyede     CBT     Gbajabiamila     Al-Ilory     IFK     Igbomina     Wole Oke     Toyin Saraki     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Yekeen Alabi     Wahab Abayawo     Adamu Attah     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Ilorin.Info     Saka Asiat Ayinke     Saidu Isa     Christopher Ayeni     Babaita     Maigidasanma     Olomu     Haliru Dantoro     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Abdulwahab Oba     Mohammed Danjuma     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Moses Afolayan     Rafiu Ibrahim     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Ekweremadu     Alimi     Moses Adekanye     QuickWin     Senate Presidency     Halimat Yusuf     Aminat Omodara     Demola Banu     COEASU     Ajasse-Ipo     JAMB     Tosho Yaqub     Afonja Descendants Union     Omoniyi M. Ayinla     Garba Ado Sanni     Kwara Pdp     Ijagbo Health Centre     Abdulraheem Yusuf     Alfa Belgore     Ayo Opadokun     Belgore     Bilikis Oladimeji     Gambari     Umar Sanda Yusuf     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     Saka Adeyemo     Salary     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Olaosebikan     Akume     Idowu Aremu     Ajibike Katibi