Kwara ex-councillors protest, demand 70% entitlement

Date: 2017-09-12

Members of Ex-councillors Forum of 2013-2016 set, who are members of the All Progressives Congress, on Monday, protested in front of the Kwara State Government House in Ilorin, the Kwara State capital, over unpaid allowances.

The protesters carried placards of different inscriptions, including 'we are hungry - 2013-2016 councillors'; and 'pay our outstanding salaries - furniture allowance, 300 per cent, annual basic salaries, severance package.'

One of the protesters, Mr. Ogundele Olabisi, who spoke to journalists, said they were unhappy that about 70 per cent of their entitlements had not been paid.

"Though we agree that there was a shortfall in allocation, but even with this shortfall, they paid themselves. They (government officials) did not owe themselves. They are taking their entitlements in full. They promised to pay us all our entitlements within three months, but since we left, they still owe us," he stated.

But the Kwara State Government said while the plight of the protesting ex-councillors was unfortunate, especially during these difficult times, it was not responsible for the said arrears.

The Commissioner for Information and Communications, Alhaji Mahmud Ajeigbe, in a statement, also said the councillors served the local government system, which he noted was a separate tier of government.

Ajeigbe added, "Although the state government recognises their right to peaceful protests, the protesters are advised to channel their demands to the individual local government councils that owe them.

"The governor Abdulfatah Ahmed's administration stands ready to support the councils to pay these and other arrears as demonstrated by the recent release of N2bn to local government councils, including N100m towards offsetting the arrears owed political office holders, out of the recent Paris Club Refund as well as the ongoing efforts to shore up their internally generated revenue."


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Yomi Ogunsola     Salake     Elelu     Segun Abifarin     IF-K     Abdulwahab Oba     Najim Yaasin     Moshood Mustapha     Alanamu     Y.A. Abdulkareem     AbdulGaniyu Kareem     Aisha Buhari     AbdulRauf Keji     Adeleke Ogungbe     Kunle Okeowo     Kanu Agabi     NYSC     Ayinke Saka     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Abubakar Aliagan     Ayo Salami     Oniwa     SUBEB     Amasa     Sango-UITH Road     Yunus Oniboki     Kwara Central     Ike Ekweremadu     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Wasiu Odewale     Babata     Wale Oladepo     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Monkey Pox     S.O. Opowoye     Jaigbade Alao     Olushola Saraki     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Tafidan Kaiama     KWASIEC     Post Utme     CCB     Musibau Akanji     Afonja Descendants Union     Tsaragi     Bello Bature     NTA Ilorin     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Akeem Lawal     Gbemisola Saraki     Oloyede     Garba Ado Sanni     Saad Omo Iya     Olatunji Ibrahim     Kwara Hotel     Abdulfatai Baakini     John Obuh     Ibrahim Abdullahi     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Lanre Aremu     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Age AbdulKareem     NURTW     Ahmed Bayero     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Modibbo Kawu     Gobirawa     AbdulHamid Adi     Quareeb Islamic Association     Tunji Oyawoye     Pategi     NaAllah     Raimi Iyanda     Sabo-Oke     Oju Ekun Sarumi