Announce new rector, Offa Poly group urges FG

Date: 2016-10-12

Some concerned staff of the Federal Polytechnic, Offa, Kwara State, have expressed worries about the long period it has taken the Federal Government to announce a new rector for the institution.

It therefore urged the government to announce the new rector for the institution.

It, however, advised the Minister of Education, Mallam Adamu Adamu, to adhere strictly to the template of the Federal Ministry of Education on the appointment of university vice-chancellor, polytechnic rector and college of education provost in appointing a new rector for Offa Poly.

A statement signed by the spokesperson of the group, Mr. Tajudeen Ayokunle, on Tuesday after a meeting, said the template specifies that a rector must not be more than 55 years old at the time of assuming duty.

He added that the person must be a chief lecturer with at least five-year experience; and that the area of discipline of the applicant must be in any of the programmes run in the polytechnic that awarded the diploma.

He stated that based on the criteria, only three candidates among the seven that have been interviewed for the post are qualified.

Ayokunle said, "We are worried about whether the acting rectorship will continue indefinitely and whether the appointment of a new rector process will never be concluded.

"The federal Ministry of Education and the National Board for Technical Education should not make the stakeholders believe they are conniving with others to arm-twist the system and support/impose illegality, not only on Offa Poly but also on the entire system of education in Nigeria.

"That will be making a mockery of the change initiative of the President Muhammadu Buhari administration."




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Mustapha Olanipekun     Yusuf Ali     Iyabo Adewuyi     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Amoyo     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Playing Host     Niyi Osundare     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Kayode Ogunlowo     Abubakar Aliagan     John Mayokun Dada     Lukman Adeloyin     Senate President     Oye Tinuoye     Bolaji Abdullahi     Aiyedun     Florence Saraki     LEAH Charity Foundation     Hassan Saliu     Ahmad Lawan     Ramadan     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Mohammed Yisa     Jimoh Akani     Vasolar Consortium     Valsolar     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Saadu Yusuf     Susan Modupe Oluwole     Taiwo Joseph     Hajj     Abubakar Suleiman     Balogun Fulani     Maryam A. Garuba     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Muhammed Abdullahi     Aminat Omodara     Olatunji Ayeni     Galland Marcias     Yakubu Dogara     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Quranic Recitation Competition     Olokoba Sulyman     Sabi     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Sheriff Shagaya     Olaosebikan     GRA     Akande Idowu Ayoola Muhammed     Agbarigidoma     Akorede     Opobiyi     JAMB     Bature Bello     Irepodun     Belgore     Omotosho     Amuda Musbau     Kwara Apc     Cornelius Adebayo     Split Diamond Interchange     CCT     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Salary     Bashirat Bola Bello     Tinubu     Abdulwahab Ololele     Quran     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Abdulrasheed Na'Allah     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     KWASIEC     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Ibrahim Labaika     Bankole Omisore     Alloy Chukwuemeka