NYG: Team Delta storms Ilorin with 750 contingent

Date: 2019-09-08
Team Delta officials and athletes celebrate winning the 3rd National Youth Games with 22 gold medals Defending champions, Team Delta has departed its camp, the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba at about 6am this Saturday, with 750 contingent to the 5th National Youth Games (NYG) holding in Ilorin, Kwara State. Over 400 athletes, representing the state, will participate in 34 sports, including swimming, wrestling,combat, track and field events.

Executive Chairman, Delta State Sports Commission, Chief Tonobok Okowa, told journalists that Team Delta was in high spirit to retain the trophy and remain champion.

Speaking on the team's preparations, he said athletes had been in camp, training with premium standard facilities, for several weeks and had been well motivated for the Games. The Delta Sports Commission chairman noted that the completion of Stephen Keshi stadium had stepped up sporting activities in the state capital, promising that Delta would come top at the NYG. "Anything less than first position is not winning and we are prepared to win", he added. He, however, expressed fear over age cheating during screening, calling for proper screening in order to ensure that overage athletes are not allowed to participate.

"You can see and attest to the fact that we have selected our team from the abundant talents across the state. You all were witnesses to the school sports festival early this year, where we discovered and groomed most of the athletes we are taking to the Ilorin games", the Delta sports administrator said.

The NYG begins on Monday, September 9, in Ilorin, where Delta State retained the trophy in the last edition and has won all previous editions of the games, which commenced in 2012.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Akanbi-Oke     Balogun Fulani     Jimba Babatunde     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Abiodun Abdulkareem     Ali Ahmad     Baakini     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Ojuekun Sarumi     Yunus Oniboki     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Emir Of Ilorin     Awodun     Nurudeen Muhammed     Lola Ashiru     AbdulRauf Keji     SGBN     Gurei     Riskat Opakunle     Ilorin.Info     Musa Abdullahi     Quareeb     Rafiu Olasile     Amusement Park     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     Kayode Yusuf     Ibrahim Bio     Ajase-Ipo     Taibat Ayinke Ahmed     Oyun     Arinola Lawal     Fulani     Quareeb Islamic Association     Logun     Mohammed Haruna     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Lanre Issa-Onilu     Egbejila     Ojuekun     A.E. Afolabi     Muhammadu Buhari     Ilorin Amusement Park     Femi Gbajabiamila     Abdulrazaq Akorede     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Ike Ekweremadu     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Sa'adatu Modibbo-Kawu     Yahaya A Paniyaro     Bolakale Ayo     Aminat Omodara     Ogbondoroko     Idris Garba     Sanusi Abubakar     Popo-Igbonna     Alao Ayotunde     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Jaiz Bank     Ibrahim Labaika     Oniyangi     Vasolar     Vasolar Consultoria     Lanre Issa Onilu     Government House     Alabi Lawal     Guber Aspirant     Jawondo     Suleman Abubakar     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Kwara United     Ayegbeni     Idowu Aremu     Sherif Shagaya     Alabe