Court jails two siblings for internet fraud in Kwara

Date: 2019-05-15

Kwara state High Court sitting in Ilorin, the state capital on Tuesday sentenced two siblings and another person to four-month imprisonment for cheating and internet fraud.

Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Ilorin Zonal office charged the three to court for offences bordering of cheating and internet fraud.

The suspects include two brothers of the same parents, Olaogun Seun, Olaogu Abidemi and Ojor.

One of the charge reads: "That you, Olaogu Seun, Olaogu Abidemi and Ojor Alex sometimes in March 2019 or thereabouts at Ilorin, Kwara State within the jurisdiction of this honourable court agreed among yourselves to do an illegal act to with: cheating by impersonation and thereby committed an offence contrary to section 96 of the penal code law and punishable under section 97 and 324 of the same law."

The three accused persons during their arraignment had on Monday this week pleaded guilty to the four-count charge levelled against them by the anti-graft body.

Counsel to EFCC Nnaemeka Omawa told the court that "the defendants had prior to their arraignment, approached the commission for a plea bargain agreement, we have considered it, bother the prosecution and the defendants have come up with the terms in line with section 276 of the administration of criminal justice act, the accused persons during their extrajudicial statements have confessed to the crime."

Defence counsel Taofeek Alubarika, however, pleaded with the court to temper justice with mercy, saying his clients had shown remorse on what they did.

Delivering his judgement, Justice M. Abdulgafar sentenced the trio to four months imprisonment effective from the 15th day of April 2019."

The sentence is without option of fine and it will run concurrently.

He also ordered for the forfeiture of defendants to forfeit all the exhibits recovered from them to the Federal Government.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Tunji Moronfoye     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Abubakar B.M     Sango-UITH Road     College Of Health     Bio Ibrahim     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Abdulahi Abubakar Bata     Saraki     Isiaka Danmeromu     Ramat Oganija     Lafiagi     Odo-Owa     Ahmad Ali     Kazeem Adekanye     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Ola Falade     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Saliu Alamoyo     Abdulhakeem Amao     Adebayo Salami     Shehu Salau     Bankole Omisore     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Oke-opin     Rapheal Ashaolu     Harmony Holdings     Yakub Lai Gobir     Oloje     Saka Adeyemo     Yomi Ogunsola     AGF Abdulrazak     Muritala Awodun     Amasa     Yoruba     Government House     Agbarigidoma     Bukola Ajikobi     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     GANZY     Oniwa     Oyelere Oyinloye     Busari Alabi Alausa     Ajase-Ipo     Salihu Ajia     Saka Asiat Ayinke     Innocent Okoye     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Idyat Omolola Isiaq     Ahmed Alhasssan     Sam Okaula     Okasanmi Ajayi     Abdulfatai Salman Baakini     Kwasu     CUTI     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Kola Bukoye     Owode Market     Bolaji Abdullahi     Obasanjo     George Funsho Adebayo     Malete     Abdulsalam Firdaous Amosa     Ayedun     Abdulwasiu Bolaji Adeyi     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     2017 Budget     Vasolar Consortium     Ishaq Salman     National Pilot     Baakini     Taofeek Sanusi     Split Diamond Interchange     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu