Elections: Only criminals need worry in Kwara - Lai Mohammed

Date: 2019-02-06

The information minister, Lai Mohammed, has said only criminals and political thugs need to be worried in Kwara State.

He said this is because they (miscreants) will not be allowed to cause violence or disrupt the forthcoming elections.

In a statement sent to PREMIUM TIMES on Tuesday, the minister said the Conference of Nigeria Political Parties (CNPP), Kwara State Chapter, had alleged that the federal government was planning to clamp down on opposition parties.

He said the allegation by the "shadowy" CNPP is a panic reaction to his consistent call on the security agencies to rid the nation of all known thugs in Kwara State, "to provide a level playing field for all the parties".

"A similar action by the security agencies went a long way in ensuring the success of the 17 Nov. 2018 by-election in the Irepodun/Ekiti/Oke-Ero/Isin Federal Constituency in Kwara, which was won by our party, the All Progressives Congress (APC), and which was widely adjudged to be free, fair and peaceful," he said.

He said thugs and other criminals in the state need to be worried as ”they won’t get the chance to disrupt the conduct of the forthcoming elections".

He said the move had made those "whose modus operandi is to use thugs and hooligans to snatch ballot papers, disenfranchise voters and generally terrorise the citizenry during elections restless and uneasy".

"We have no apologies for ridding the state of these delinquents," he said

However, he said all law-abiding residents of the state have nothing to fear.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kwara     Gobir     John Mayokun Dada     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Bukola Ajikobi     Odo-Owa     Okasanmi Ajayi     Oye Tinuoye     Kwara 2015     Laolu Saraki     Babata     Ogbondoroko     Modibo Kawu     Sanusi Abubakar     Shoprite     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Suleman Abubakar     Abegunde Goke     Bolaji Abdullahi     Erubu Oba Zubair     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Share     Hassan A. Saliu     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Riskat Opakunle     Emir Of Ilorin     Fulani     Maigida Soludero Transit     Dairo Kunle Paul     Malete     Gbugbu     Kwara South     IEDPU     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Olushola Saraki     Valsolar Consultoria     Shehu Alimi Foundation     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Isapa     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Mohammed Yisa     Suleiman Ajadi     Yusuf Abdulwahab     Presidential Election     CCT     Quareeb     Olokoba Sulyman     KWSIEC     Isau     Femtech     Abdulfatai Baakini     Olomu     Taofik Abdulkareem     Baba Isale     NULGE     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Mohammed Halidu     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Chief Of Staff     George Innih     Musa Abdullahi     Iyiola Oyedepo     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Musa Alhassan Buge     Titus Suberu-Ajibola     High Court     Monsurat Omotosho     Saad Omo Iya     Alfa Modibbo Belgore     Radio Kwara     Omotosho     Quranic Recitation Competition     Oke-opin     Na'Allah     Muslim Cementary