Ilorin residents lament over a month blackout

Date: 2018-10-20

Thousands of residents in parts of llorin, the kwara capital, on Friday said they were going through a lot of hardship without electricity since over a month now.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the affected areas which are in the llorin West Local Government Area of the state include Baboko Alore. Adabata Pakata and Oloje among others.

Their Spokesman, Alhaji Ismail Alada, told NAN that the total blackout had crippled social and economic activities in these areas.

He pleaded with the Ibadan Electricity Distribution Company (IBEDC) to replace the damaged electricity power breakers in some areas in order to restore power so that business activities would continue.

Alada said that the situation was becoming unbearable for some residents as a result of power outage.

He alleged that some suspected hoodlums had taken advantage of the power outage to attack some residents and carted away their belongings.

One of the affected residents, a retired civil servant in the state, Malam Musa Yahaya, said that the power outage had encouraged crimes in all the affected areas.

He called on the state government to urgently intervene to save the communities from total darkness and collapse of economic activities.

Yahaya also implored the management of IBEDC, to as a matter of urgency, ensure that electricity was restored to the affected communities to enhance commercial activities.

Mr Asaju Kolawole, the Regional Communication Manager of lBEDC, told NAN said the company was aware of the problem.

He attributed the problem to major fault at transmission station in Sawmill area in llorin.

Kolawole, however, gave an assurance that repair work had reached advance stage and that the power would soon be restored to all the affected areas.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Okeose Christian Cementary     Baaziki Sulaiman     JAMB     Moji Makanjuola     Ajase-Ipo     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Ibrahim Kayode Adeyemi     Bamikole Omishore     Omotoso     Leke Ogungbe     Hausa     Ajibike Katibi     Riskat Opakunle     Aisha Buhari     Balogun Fulani     Kanu Agabi     Adegoke Bamidele     Ahmad Ali     Shehu Salau     Belgore     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Gbugbu     Ibrahim Abdullahi     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Transition Implementation Committee     Eleja Taiwo Banu     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Issa Oloruntogun     Alloy Chukwuemeka     Bilikisu Oniyangi     Monkey Pox     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Omotosho     Code Of Conduct Tribunal     Saadu Alanamu     Funmi Salau     Olokoba     Ilorin.Info     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Isiaka Danmeromu     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     Abdulraheem Yusuf     Awodun     Abdulraheem Olesin     Modibbo Kawu     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Ahmed     Kazeem Adekanye     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Firdaos Amasa     Muritala Awodun     Modibo Kawu     Suleiman Ajadi     Rueben Parejo     Apaokagi     Bond     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Moses Salami     KWASAA     Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Oja-Oba     Rotimi Atere     Abubakar Baba     Rex Olawoye     Abdulrazaq Adebayo     Olokoba Sulyman     Kaiama     Nurudeen Muhammed     Nurudeen Mohammed     Sa'ad Alanamu     Idris Garba     Baba-Isale     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf