Thugs assault journalist in Kwara

Date: 2018-10-12

Some suspected political thugs on Thursday allegedly assaulted a correspondent of the Daily Trust Newspaper in Ilorin, Mrs Romoke Ahmad.

The journalist had gone to cover a protest at the secretariat of the All Progressives Congress on Murtala Mohammed Way, when the thugs reportedly beat her up for allegedly writing a negative story about their principal.

The protest was organised by the Abdullahi Yaman Support Group, a group loyal to one of the Kwara State APC governorship aspirants, Alhaji Abdullahi Yaman.

It took the intervention of Ahmad’s colleagues and law enforcement agents to save her from further assault.

Ahmad said, "When I got to the APC secretariat, one Muhammed Kudu called me and said he deliberately asked me to be invited for a purpose.

"He called some thugs and discussed with them. The thugs ran after me and said I was the one who wrote a negative story about Abdullahi Yaman. They beat me up. They damaged my propery, while some of them wrote my vehicle's number plate; they threatened to deal with me."

The journalist said she had lodged a complaint at the Kwara State Police Command, adding that she also wrote a petition against Yaman and his brother, Kudu.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ilesha-Baruba     Oyelere Oyinloye     Pius Abioje     LEAH Charity Foundation     Mohammed Halidu     Kwara South     Muhammed Abdullahi     Onikijipa     Alloy Chukwuemeka     Osi     UTME     Oba Abdulkadir La'aro     Abubakar Suleiman     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Ola Falade     Offa Poly     Abdullahi Atanda     Federal Allocation     Abikan     Odolaye Aremu     EFCC     Yoonus Lawal     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Kwara Apc     Funmilayo Oniwa     KWSIEC     Belgore     Akeem Olatunji     Gbemisola Saraki     Kale Belgore     Babatunde Idiagbon     AGF Abdulrazak     Gambari     Mamatu Abdullahi     Shonga Farm Project     Senate Presidency     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Hijab     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Saad Omo Iya     Playing Host     Ijakadi     Abdulrazaq Akorede     Femtech     Local Government     Michael Ologundea     Ilorin East/South Federal Constituency     Esuwoye     Ajasse-Ipo     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Kazeem Adekanye     Popo-Igbonna     Leke Ogungbe     Oniwasi Agbaye     Diagnostic Centre     Economic And Financial Crimes Commission     Code Of Conduct     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Opobiyi     Yoruba     Moji Makanjuola     Akume     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Adegoke Bamidele     Kayode Zubair     Alikinla     Moro     Laolu Saraki     AbdulHamid Adi     Fatai Olodo     Ilorin Airport     Abdulraufu Mustapha     Ahmad Ali     Labaeka     Kola Bukoye     S.O. Opowoye