980,425 PVCs collected in Kwara - INEC

Date: 2018-09-14

The Independent National Electoral Commission has said that 980,425 permanent voterís cards (PVCs) have been collected in Kwara State between 2015 and August 2018.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Garba Madami, stated this in Ilorin yesterday while receiving the state Council of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) led by its chairman, Umar Abdulwahab.

Madami disclosed that a total of 264,823 PVCs were yet to be claimed by their owners in the state, adding that only 50,571 voters collected the card between 2017/2018

He expressed confidence the 2019 general elections would be the best in the country, saying the commission was duty bound to conduct free, fair and credible polls.

Madami said the INEC had put in place measures to address the challenges, declaring that ďI want the state to be rated best". He, however, urged the media to be wary of fake news, crosscheck facts and figures and refer to the commission when the need arises so as not to mislead the public.

In his remarks, Abdulwahab, said the union had enjoyed cordial relationship with the electoral umpire and added that it should be sustained especially now that the elections are around the corner.

He also stressed the need to make available right information at the appropriate time if the era of fake news must be ended.

He urged the commission to allow the union handle accreditation of journalists that would be assigned to cover the forthcoming general elections in the state as done in the Ekiti governorship poll held few weeks ago.

Abdulwahab assured the electoral body of cooperation and support to achieve its objectives of conducting free, fair and credible elections in the state.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Segun Abifarin     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Ilorin Airport     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Iyabo Adewuyi     Raliat Elelu-Habeeb     Odolaye Aremu     Arandun     Temitope Ogunbanke     Makama Of Ilorin     Bamidele Adegoke     Abdulhakeem Amao     Olaitan Adefila     Yekeen Alabi     Boko Haram     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     Sa'adu Gambari     Aminat Omodara     Ali Ahmad     Mohammed Halidu     Kwara South     Funmilayo Zubair     Yakubu Shaaba     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Mustapha Olanipekun     Saka Onimago     Bello Bature     Oke-Odo     UITH     Oloye     ARMTI     Popo-Igbonna     Gobir     Ilorin Water Reticulation     Mohammed Yisa     Funmilayo Oniwa     Ilorin Emirate     UTME     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Kola Ologbondiyan     Tafida Of Kaiama     Olaoye B. Felix     Shehu Jimoh     Kola Shittu     Moses Afolayan     Ibrahim Oniye     Adesoye     Osi     Toyin Saraki     Obasanjo     Amuda Aluko     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Abdullahi Adisa Akodudu     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Iqra Books     Abdulraheem Yusuf     School Of Nursing     Amasa     Www.Kwarareports.com     KWATMA     Toyin Sanusi     Oba Abdulrahim     Council Of The Wise     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Kayode Zubair     Press Release     Rasaq Jimoh     Ibrahim Labaika     NTA Ilorin     Alloy Chukwuemeka     Issa Manzuma     Muslim Media Watch Group Of Nigeria     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     Ibrahim Abiodun     Offa Descendants Union     Jimoh Akani     Awili Pedro