Police disperse protesting students with tear gas

Date: 2018-08-13

Policemen on Monday dispersed protesting students of the College of Education Ilorin, Kwara state with tear gas.

The students, who alleged that their lecturers were being owed six months pay by the Kwara State Government said the situation had denied them the opportunity to commence their semester examination.

The students started their protest from their school premises, matched through Ibrahim Taiwo road, Unity area and were heading to the Government House to lodge their complaints before their path was blocked by policemen at Unity Roundabout.

Police shot tear gas to disperse them. The students ran for their dear lives. Businesses along the road hurriedly locked their doors.

Many people including bank employees and our correspondent inhaled the tear gas and suffered the resulting inconvenience.

The command's Public Relations Officer, Mr. Okasanmi Ajayi told our correspondent that he was in a meeting. He added that the matter would be addressed.

The students who are supposed to start their semester exams on Monday (this morning) were unable to do so, as their lecturers embarked on a strike over non-payment of their salaries by the Kwara State Government.

The students embarked on the protest carrying placards with various inscriptions such as “Pay our lecturers."



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Yusuf Abdulkadir     Oloye     Simeon Ajibola     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     KWTV     KWASIEC     Mohammed Danjuma     Valsolar Consultoria     Olatunji Ayeni     Alao Ayotunde     Kisira     Aremu Odolaye     Maigida Soludero Transit     Olokoba Sulyman     Ilota     Salman Jawondo     Mohammed Halidu     Minister     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Okasanmi Ajayi     George Innih     Press Release     KWSIEC     John Obuh     Shao     Mufti Of Ilorin     Kwara Central     Ahmad Ali     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Taibat Ayinke Ahmed     Kayode Issa     Alikinla     Durosinlohun Kawu     Hamza Usman     S.O. Opowoye     Mogaji Aare     Aishat Sulu-Gambari     Olaiya Zuberu     Kamaldeen Ajibade     MMWG     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Sarah Jubril     Ope Saraki     John Dara     Radio Kwara     Clara Nwachukwu     April 11     Olaoye B. Felix     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Saka Saadu     Olusegun Adeniyi     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     IDPU     Ayegbeni     Amoyo     Ajayi Okasanmi     Henry Olaosebikan     Amuda Musbau     Adebayo Salami     Abubakar Aliagan     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Local Government Pension Board     Halidu Danbaba     Abdulkadir Orire     Abdulraheem Olesin     Ajase-Ipo     Oke-Odo     Ilofa     Kulende     Gobirawa     Riskat Opakunle     Onilorin     Yunus Oniboki     NaAllah     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Ola Falade