Labour party raises alarm over alleged impersonation of party chairman by Omotosho

Date: 2018-01-12

Labour Party has alleged the impersonation of its National Chairman, Alhaji Abdulkadir Abdulsalam by ex-governorship candidate in Kwara State, Mr. Mike Omotosho.

The party made the clarification in a statement signed by Alhaji Abdul?salam obtained by DAILY POST on Wednesday on the heels of a media conference conducted by Mr. Omotosho who claimed to be the substantive chairman of the party.

Abdul?salam in the statement noted that Omotosho had been dismissed from the party for anti-party activities after the 2015 general elections, adding that the accused had since returned to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), which he described as his political base.

The party chairman while declaring that the clarification is imperative so as to avoid misleading the public, recalled that he (Abdulsalam) was elected at the party's national convention which last held in Ondo state, October 11th, 2014.

Abdulsalam noted that members of the party are not in doubt as to who their National Chairman is, as he called on the members of the public who may be in doubt on who the authentic national chairman is to seek correct information from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the only regulatory body responsible for the management of registered political parties in the country.

"The attention of the Labour Party (LP) has been drawn to a recent press statement/conference by one Mr. Mike Omotosho who claimed to be the National Chairman of the party.

"Mr. Mike Omotosho was once the Guber candidate of the party in Kwara state who was dismissed for anti-party activities; he later returned back to his former party the People's Democratic Party (PDP) after the 2015 general election.

"This will be our last press statement on this issue because, for the avoidance of doubt, the National Chairman of Labour Party is Alhaji Abdulkadir Abdulsalam who was elected at our National Convention on the 11th October, 2014 in Ondo State. Please kindly disregard any purported claims by the imposter who has set out with members of his co-hort to deceive and mislead members of the public for their selfish reasons.

Mr. Mike Omotosho claiming to be the National Chairman of Labour Party (LP) through media is an attempt to fraudulently steal using the instrumentality of the press should be condemned by? all people of good will.

"Although authentic members of the Labour Party (LP) are not in doubt as to who their National Chairman is, Labour Party wishes to appeal members of the public and our very reputable and respectable members of the fourth estate of realm to seek further clarification from the regulatory body responsible for the management of registered political parties in Nigeria, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)".


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kwara Apc     Bolaji Abdullahi     Sam Okaula     Florence Saraki     Kwara 2019     Amuda Bembe     Sulyman Age AbdulKareem     Ubandawaki     Kayode Ogunlowo     Roseline Oni Aremu     Ladi Hassan     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Ola Falade     Bahago     Kannike     Samuel Adaramola     Seni Saraki     Muritala Awodun     Ilorin Central Mosque     Patigi Regatta     Patience Jonathan     Durosinlohun Atiku     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Funmi Salau     Abdulwahab Oba     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     COEASU     Bukola Saraki     Ayeni     Kwara Central     Erin-ile     Revenue Court     Sarakite     Gafaru Olayiwola Olorisade     Ishola Balogun Fulani     Allocation     Ojuekun     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Akorede     Maigidasanma     Fatai Adeniyi Garba     Oyelere Oyinloye     Fulani     Isiaka Abdulrazak     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Temitope Ogunbanke     Oloye     Muhammadu Buhari     Tunde Saad     Kishira     Kwara State Governor     Gbemisola Saraki     Maigida     Afonja     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Senate President     V.O. Abioye     NYSC     KWASIEC     Ayedun     Jaiz Bank     Taofeek Sanusi     Tinubu     Shagari     Oke-Odo     Joseph Daudu     International Aviation College     Diagnostic Centre     Olushola Saraki     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Ndakene     Afolayan