Kwara LGA Polls: APC Satisfied With Conduct, PDP Alleges Electoral Fraud

Date: 2017-11-18

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Kwara has accused the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) of perpetrating massive rigging and other electoral frauds during the Saturday local government elections in the state. APC while denying PDP's allegation said PDP was crying wolf where there was none.

PDP chairman in the state, Akogun Iyiola Oyedepo said this on Saturday while reacting to the conduct of the election in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN)

Meanwhile, the state’s Police Commissioner, Alhaji Lawan Ado, who led the security Committee for the election expressed satisfaction with the conduct of the council elections.

NAN reports that coalition of result from various 193 wards in the state are currently in progress.

Unlike previous elections held in the state, the Saturday’s Local Government election took place simultaneously with accreditation and voting.

Also, Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO), Ajayi Okasanmi, when contacted said he was not aware that ballot papers were being thump printed inside Police vehicle anywhere in the state.

“I have no record of such incident or other electoral fraud from anywhere in the state, so I cannot comment or speak on it,” Okasanmi said.

According to the PPRO, to the best of my knowledge, the police provided adequate security during and after the election across the state.

Also reacting, APC Publicity Secretary, Suleiman Buhari, described the PDP claim that some people thump printed ballot papers inside police vehicle as untrue.

Buhari said the election went well in the state, adding that PDP was just crying wolf where there was none.

The APC spokesman said no ballot box was snatched anywhere during the election, saying that the election was peaceful and recorded a large turnout.

According to Oyedepo, the election was characterised by snatching of ballot boxes in many polling booths across the state, stuffing of already thump printed ballot papers into boxes and inadequate ballot papers.

The PDP chairman also alleged that many polling booths have no recording sheets, while there was no accreditation of voters in many polling booths.

“The whole exercise is a sham riddled with fraud, APC was brazen in carrying out the fraud and rigging in the open while security operatives looked other way.

“It is a shame that a sitting government could resort to rigging, fraud, intimidation of the opposition in an election,” Oyedepo said.

In his own reaction, PDP Publicity Secretary, Rex Olawoye accused the police of conniving with APC in perpetrating the fraud.

Olawoye said in Oke Ero and Ekiti local governments, ballot boxes were being stuffed with ballot papers inside police van.

He condemned the whole conduct of the election across the state, adding that PDP will make its position known on Monday.

Also, Kwara State Independent Electoral Commission (KWASEIC) expressed satisfaction with the conduct of Saturday’s election into 16 local government Areas in the state.

The chairman of the commission, Dr AbdulRahman Ajidagba, told NAN after monitoring the conduct of the election in some polling units in Ilorin, that the commission was satisfied with the exercise.

Ajidagba, who was accompanied by commissioner in charge of Administration and Security, Alhajj AbdulRauf Ajao, visited over 15 polling centres in the Ilorin Township

Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Toyin Sanusi     Eleyele     Kayode Yusuf     Taofik Abdulkareem     Florence Saraki     AbdulRauf Keji     Tafida Of Kaiama     Mohammed Lawal     Ekweremadu     Ogbondoroko     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Modibbo Kawu     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Omotosho     NTA Ilorin     Akume     Ali Ahmad     Agbarere     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Quranic Recitation Competition     Bukola Ajikobi     Awodun     S.O. Opowoye     Muhammed Abdullahi     Jaigbade Alao     Arandun     Ibrahim Labaika     Niyi Osundare     Adijat Adebiyi     Sulyman Age AbdulKareem     Sabo-Oke     Mohammed Abdulahi     Abubakar Aliagan     Alabi Lawal     Abdulkarim Adisa     Sa'adu Gambari     Aremu Odolaye     Rex Olawoye     Haliru Yahaya     Chief Of Staff     Aiyedun     Kwara South     Omupo     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Tope Daramola     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Ilorin International Airport     Split Diamond Interchange     Shao     Balogun Fulani     Hassan A. Saliu     SUBEB     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Vasolar Consultoria     Transition Implementation Committee     Kwara United     Saidu Yaro Musa     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Saadu Gbogbo Iwe     Afonja     Minister     Saad Omo Iya     Femi Gbajabiamila     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     College Of Health     Muhammadu Buhari     Students Union Government     Irepodun     General Hospital     Bankole Omisore     Olatunji Moronfoye     Taofik Mustapha     Eruku     Alao Ayotunde     Yusuf Abubakar     Gambari     Revenue Court