Kwara LG polls: PDP loses in court

Date: 2017-10-18

A Kwara state High Court Tuesday trashed a suit filed by the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, to stop the conduct of the November 18th local government elections in the state.

PDP had through its lead counsel, Salman Jawondo, approached the court to restrain the Kwara state Independent Electoral Commission (KWASIEC) from conducting the said election into the 16 local councils.

Also joined in the suit was the state Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Kamaldeen Ajibade (SAN).

PDP had anchored its claims on the alleged unconstitutionality inherent in KWAISEC guidelines for candidates participating in the council poll.

But in his ruling, Justice Sulaiman Akanbi said that there was nothing unconstitutional by the legislation passed by the Kwara state House of Assembly.

He therefore ordered the state electoral umpire to go ahead with the November 18th, 2017 local government elections.

He said: "What the Kwara state House of Assembly did constitutionally and additionally is to aide the Federal Law; the state law is not inconsistent with the Electoral law. Kwara state House of Assembly did not run foul of the Constitution rather it complemented it.

"It is crystal clear that the action of the Kwara state House of Assembly is constitutionally guaranteed as regards the council elections. Section 106 of the Constitution is also emphatic on this. I therefore resolved the two issues raised by the claimant in favour of the defendants."


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Abdulfatah Ahmed     KWASAA     Elerinjare     Christopher Odetunde     Abdulkadir Orire     Tunji Arosanyin     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Ojo Fadumila     S.O. Opowoye     Ahmad Ali     Gbemisola Saraki     Sanusi Abubakar     Awili Pedro     Bio Ibrahim     Saka Onimago     Moshood Mustapha     Isiaka Danmeromu     Jaigbade Alao     Amoyo     V.O. Abioye     Wahab Abayawo     Photo News     Olaiya Zuberu     Tosin Saraki     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Olayinka Olaogun     Bello Bature     AIT Ilorin     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Awodun     Abdulmumin Yinka Ajia     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Akeem Olatunji     Yusuf Aiyedun     Edu     Amosa     IFK     Adebara     Iyiola Oyedepo     Abegunde Goke     Abdulganiyu Oladosu     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Taofik Abdulkareem     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Alagbado     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Atunwa     Albert Ogunsola     Adijat Adebiyi     Suleman Abubakar     Sobi FM     Senate President     Transition Implementation Committee     Firdaos Amasa     Hamidat Sulyman-Yusuf     Balogun Fulani     Funmilayo Oniwa     GRA     Mohammed Lawal     Akorede     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Olusegun Adeniyi     Bayo Onimago     Tunde Akanbi     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Amuda Aluko     Yeketi     KSIRS     Babata     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Yakub Lai Gobir     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Mohammed Abdulahi     General Hospital     Salary