National Youth Games: George,others storm Ilorin

Date: 2017-09-07

Honourable Olamide George will be at the head of Athletics Federation of Nigeria officials expected in Ilorin for the 2017 National Youth Games which begin this week.

George,who is the vice president of the federation will be joined by Brown Ebewele,a foremost athletics coach who is expected to be named the AFN technical sub-committee chairman following his election as the representative of the technical arm of the federation as well as three-time Olympic coach,Gabriel Okon.

Also expected to be in Ilorin for the games are Sunday Adeleye,the athletes representative elected on June 13 to purposely take care of the interest of track and field athletes and Amaechi Akawo,the administrative head of the federation. The Sports Writers of Nigeria (SWAN) representative on the board of the AFN,Dare Esan is also expected to hit Ilorin later this week.

In a chat with newsmen in Lagos,Esan revealed that the AFN will organise the athletics event of the games which runs from September 11 through 16 at the Maracana stadium,University of Ilorin.

ĎAs a journalist and somebody who has been associated with track and field for over 20 years and has covered the IAAF World Championships eight times,I am delighted the 2017 edition is a reality.This is truly a talent discovery event and kudos must be given to the Honourable Minister,Barrister Solomon Dalung for giving Nigerian youths an event aimed at developing their talent and fostering unity amongst them,' he said.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Oloye     Galland Marcias     Durosinlohun Kawu     KWSIEC     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Titus Suberu-Ajibola     Joseph Daudu     Mohammed Yisa     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Akeem Lawal     Ogbondoroko     Ilorin East     Council Of The Wise     Kwara United     UTME     Lanre Aremu     Kunle Suleiman     Baba Isale     Kwara South     Abdulkadir Orire     Post Utme     Ahmed     Unilorin FM     Solomon Edojah     Kwara Polytechnic     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Modibbo Kawu     Mustapha Akanbi     Cassava Growers' Association     IQRA College     Balogun Fulani     Jimoh Akani     Amasa     Saka Saadu     Share/Tsaragi     Babata     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Police Commissioner     Atunwa     Hamidat Sulyman-Yusuf     Suleiman Idris     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Kisra     Abdul-Rasheed Na'Allah     Kannike     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Saliu Alamoyo     Kwara 2019     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Bankole Omishore     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Yusuf Abdulwahab     Oyelere Oyinloye     Kulende     CCT     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Senate Presidency     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Gbenga Olawepo     Amuda Bembe     Isaac Gbenle     Abdulwahab Ololele     Oyawoye     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Sandal     Mufutau Olatinwo     Afonja Descendants Union     Matthew Okedare     Asa     Yomi Ogunsola     Borgu     KWATMA     AIT Ilorin     UITH     Henry Makinwa