Ajikobi Chieftaincy Tussle: Court Rules In Favour Of Nageri Lineage

Date: 2016-08-02

An Ilorin High Court has affirmed that the descendants of the late Aliyu Usman of Ajikobi compound, Ilorin, are entitled to all rights, privileges and entitlements including the right to aspire or be nominated the Daudu Ipaye and Balogun Ajikobi whenever the stools become vacant. Balogun Ajikobi is one of the four high chiefs of Ilorin Emirate.

Justice I.B Garba gave the ruling in a suit instituted by Mallam Garba Nageri Ajikobi and Mallam Alfanla Ajikobi on behalf of Aliyu lineage and Balogun Ajikobi of Ilorin against Alhaji Issa Jimoh Ajikobi.

Justice Garba ruled that the defendant cannot exclude or refuse to consider or forward the names of the descendants of the late Aliyu Usman, one of the children of the first Balogun Ajikobi in the nomination process of any vacant stool of District Head of Ipaye or Balogun Ajikobi of Ilorin to the Emir of Ilorin whenever the said stool is vacant.

In the judgment dated July 28, 2016, Justice Garba held that: "I agree with the claimants that the defendant cannot resile from that position which represents the truth that the claimants’ Aliyu lineage forms part of Balogun Ajikobi dynasty. To say anything to the contrary will amount to an afterthought meant only to cover the true position as it were.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Nupe     Ishola Abdullahi     Fatai Adeniyi Garba     NTA Ilorin     AbdulHamid Adi     Saka Keji     Baaziki Sulaiman     Florence Saraki     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Ilorin Emirate     Isapa     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Lai Gobir     Bola Sagaya     Abubakar Baba     Ayeni     Dele Momodu     Balogun Fulani     Al-Adaby     Medview Airlines     Jaiz Bank     Vasolar Consortium     Ahmed Mohammed Rifun     Balogun Ajikobi     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Kola Ologbondiyan     Valsolar Consortium     Irepodun     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Students Union Government     Maigidasanma     Omotoso     Kunle Okeowo     Ajeigbe     Mahfouz Adedimeji     Revenue Court     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Oba Abu     Muhammed Danjuma     Chief Of Staff     Awodun     Minister     IEDPU     Opobiyi     Adebara     Kwara State Infrastructure Development Fund     Christopher Odetunde     Esuwoye     Yomi Ogunsola     Oko     Shaaba Lafiagi     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Oloye     Funke Adedoyin     Ramadan     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Kwara State Internal Revenue Service     Kale Belgore     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Lukman Adeloyin     Saad Omo'ya     Bello Bature     Kaiama     Arca Santa     Computer Based Test     Abdulraheem Olesin     College Of Education     Sola Saraki University     Bankole Omishore     Salihu Ajia     Code Of Conduct     Bature Bello     Osi     Kwara State Polytechnic     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Presidential Election