IEDPU inaugurates Anniversary Committee

Date: 2015-04-18

The Ilorin Emirate Descendants Progressive Union (IEDPU), National headquarters, yesterday inaugurated the Golden Jubilee Anniversary Committee that would champion smooth conduct of various activities lined up for the anniversary.

The committee is to be chaired by the former Head of Service in Kwara State, Alhaji Mudi Gold, while Ambassador Sheikh Uthman would serve as the scribe.

Other members of the committee include Dr Hamzat AbdulRaheem, Lawyer Y. K. Saadu, Alhaji Y. O. Ahmed, Lawyer Sambo, Alhaji Tunde Nuhu, Alhaji Usman B. N. Salman, Alhaji Gidado Yunus, Alhaji Salihu AbdulWahab, Alhaji AbdulWaheed Shuaib Pakata and a representative from Central, Western, Northern and South-South zones each.

Former Commissioner for Education in the state, Hajia Halimat Yusuf is expected to chair the Committee of Eminent Women.

Inaugurating the committee, the National President of IEDPU, Alhaji Abdulhamid Adi, said the committee would periscope the vision and dreams of IEDPU through a befitting and memorable programmes for the anniversary.

Adi said the Golden Jubilee activities which would be a week-long event, will feature special prayer at Central Juma'at Mosque, cultural displays, anniversary lecture and N50 million fund raising, adding that the date for the event would be announced later.

He said the N50 million fund raising was meant for educational and vocational skill development through which youths in Ilorin Emirate would be meaningfully engaged.

He said the union in the past fifty years, had been defending at different times and places the interest of the Emirate, adding that many schools had been established for advancement of education in the community.

"IEDPU has become a household name fighting for the progress and development of the Emirate and it has become a source of inspiration for all and sundry in our community".

The IEDPU President used the occasion to congratulate Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed and Senator Bukola Saraki and members of the House of Assembly for their re-election.

"We call on them to remember that their victory is a trust and responsibility which they must do with the fear of Allah and sense of commitment to the service of humanity".

Responding, the Chairman of the committee, Alhaji Mudi Gold expressed satisfaction that the committee was made of experienced personalities, promising to justify the confidence reposed on them.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Vasolar Consortium     IDPU     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Omoniyi Ayinla     Aminat Ahmed     Wale Oladepo     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Okasanmi Ajayi     Ilorin.Info     Dele Momodu     LEAH Charity Foundation     Kaiama     Aliyu Salihu     Apaokagi     Suleiman Idris     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Bamidele Adegoke     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Kwabes     Abdulkadir Remi Hawawu     Anilelerin     NURTW     Iyabo Adewuyi     Durosinlohun Kawu     Shao     Onilorin     Yusuf Amuda Gobir     NAWOJ     National Pilot     Ilorin Airport     Abdulwahab Oba     Senate President     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Olaitan Adefila     Wole Oke     Iqra Books     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     KWIRS     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Ijagbo Health Centre     Oyelere Oyinloye     Muhammed Danjuma     Hausa     Village Alive Development Association     Afonja Descendants Union     SUBEB     Saidu Yaro Musa     Abdulrasheed Na'Allah     Mohammed Abdulahi     Bashirat Bola Bello     Tsaragi/Share     International Vocational Centre     Manzuma     Kwarareports     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Oniwasi Agbaye     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     Patigi Regatta     Saraki     Oke-Oyi     Funmilayo Zubair     Hijab     Oloyede     Moshood Mustapha     ARMTI     Basit Olatunji     Ogbondoroko     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Makama Of Ilorin     Boko Haram     Revenue Court     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Dogara     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Ilorin International Airport     Kanu Agabi