The tasks for Justice Minister Fagbemi

Date: 2023-09-13

The recent appointment of Chief Lateef Fagbemi, one of Nigeria’s foremost jurists, as a member of the Federal Executive Council, FEC, by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, could not have come at a better time.

At a time the country’s judicial sector appears to be decaying – too quickly -, his appointment as the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation, AGF, offers a silver lining.

Chief Fagbemi, a celebrated lawyer has made significant contributions to the development of law and justice in the country. He has been involved in various landmark cases, which includes but not limited to election petitions and other constitutional matters.

He also served as a judge in various Nigerian courts, including the Federal High Court and the Court of Appeal, and at 37, he became the youngest lawyer to earn the coveted SAN rank.

While assuming office at the Federal Ministry of Justice in Abuja recently, the 64-year-old jurist, an indigene of Kwara state, acknowledged the challenges hindering Nigeria’s judiciary, and the administration of effective justice.

But he had earlier, during his ministerial screening by the Senate, laid out his plan on how to sanitize the country’s judicial sector. To tackle corruption in the judiciary, Chief Fagbemi called for adequate welfare provision for judges, most especially.

As it was with his predecessors, Fagbemi will be performing both the work of AGF, which is to represent the public in all legal proceedings for the enforcement of law and the assertion or protections of public rights, and also, the role of a minister of justice, that is, the legal arm of government primarily concerned with bringing cases before the judiciary that are initiated or assumed by the government.

Ideally, the Ministry of Justice and the Office of the AGF should not be one, as combining the two will perhaps bring about a conflict of interest in protecting public interest and doing the government’s bidding. These are two sides of the coin.

Again, Fagbemi, as Minister of Justice and AGF, has a significant role to play in ensuring that the Tinubu government obeys court orders, and have regard for the rule of law.

Our judiciary, under Minister Fagbemi, should be independent and insolated from intimidation or undue influence of the executive.

Talking about arrest without trial, the current administration is already threading the path of its immediate predecessor, where many arrested persons spend several months in gulags of our security/intelligence agencies, without trials.

The immediate-past Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Abdulrasheed Bawa, has been in the custody of the Department of State Services, DSS, since June.

There is need for the new AGF and Minister of Justice to look into this. Not only Bawa, but other high-profile Nigerians detained by the DSS should immediately be charged to court.

Fagbemi should also do something about the delay in prosecutions. He should come up with rules that prohibit the prolonging of cases in our courts of law.

He should also introduce a policy that will address the problem of ‘arrest without trial’, with a view to fast-tracking legal prosecutions in the country. Indeed, a robust justice system helps to beget a peaceful and orderly society.

If the judiciary must continue to remain the hope of every common Nigerian, then it must be purged of all obnoxious acts that are desecrating the country’s temple of justice. This is the time for our brand new Minister of Justice to champion qualitative reforms for our judiciary. He will be writing his name in gold.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Timothy Akangbe     Adamu Jemilat-Baki     HICA     PharmAccess Foundation     Oyelere Oyinloye     Nnazua     Aso Ofi     Alabi Lawal     Bello Bature     Pius Abioje     Aliyu Kora-Sabi     Olajumoke Monsura Gafar     Ogbondoroko     Maryam A. Garuba     Khairat Gwadabe     Hassanat Bello     AbdulRazaq Jiddah     Ebola     Raliat AbdulRazaq     Taiwo Joseph     Federal Road Maintenance Agency     Jalala     Baaziki Sulaiman     Sheikh Alimi     Nigeria Customs Service     Sa\'adu Salahu     Haashim Initiative For Community Advancement     Ayekale     Omu Aran     Suleiman Yahya Alapansapa     Valsolar Consultoria     Joana Nnazua Kolo     Igosun     Abdulmalik Bashir Mopelola Risikatullahi     Kisra     Olusegun Adeniyi     Binta Abubakar Mora     Abdul Jimoh Mohammed     Yusuf Mubarak     Yetunde Balogun     Kpotum Mohammed Baba     Olaiya Lawal     Ahman Pategi University     Samuel Adaramola     Offa Descendants Union     Ilorin     Oluwarotimi Boluwatife Adenike     Bello John Olanrewaju     Magaji Erubu     Voices Of Tomorrow     Yeketi     Elekoyangan     Volunteers Of Ilorin Community And The Emirate     Elelu     Shehu Alimi Foundation For Peace And Development     Jelili Yusuf     Saka Adeyemo     CELF     Medinat Folorunsho Salman     Mumeen Lah     Forgo Battery     NAWOJ     Alao Ayotunde     Tanke Road     Aminu Ado Bayero     Moses Adekanye     Lawal Olohungbebe     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Oko-Erin     Isiaka Oniwa     Erubu     Trader Moni     Bayo Ajia     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     CCEPE     Abubakar Bature Sulu-Gambari    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ahmed     Lateef Fagbemi     Waheed Ibrahim     Bayo Ojo     Ita-Ore     Kwara 2023     University Road     Mohammed Abduraheem     Abdulrasaq Alaro     Mumeen Lah     Azeez Bello     Hakeem Idris     Freshvine Nigeria Limited     CBT     Ayegbeni     Magaji Nda     School Of Nursing     Lola Ashiru     Emir Of Shonga     Jalala     Kwara Apc     Abdullateef Abdussalam     Wole Oke     Salake     Oyawoye     Haliru Yahaya     Ilorin South     GANZY     Alfa Modibbo Belgore     Kabir Shagaya     Bello Taoheed Abubakar     Olatunde Olukoya     Taiwo Joseph     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Ayekale     Mujtabah Bature     Olaiya Victor Mobolaji     Fatimoh Lawal     Ilorin Amusement Park     Yakubu Dogara     Sherif Shagaya     Alabi Lawal     Musa Abdullahi     Oluwarotimi Boluwatife Adenike     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     PPS     Ibrahim Taiwo Road     Abegunde Goke     Iyabo Dupe Adekeye     Samuel Olusegun Adedayo     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Isau     Yahya Mohammed     Towoju     Idowu Aremu     Owo Arugbo     Abubakar Atiku     QuickWin     Yetunde Balogun     Kunle Suleiman     Abubakar Aliagan     Sadiq Buhari     Sherif Sagaya     HICA     General Tunde Idiagbon International Airport Ilorin     Saduki Lafiagi     Sadiq Umar     Olokoba     NNPP     Dele Momodu     Kwara 2015     Ola Falade     Olatunde Oyeyiola     Florence Saraki     Aiyedun     Ajeigbe