Kwara Gov inaugurates cabinet, charges officials on sincerity, legacy

Date: 2019-12-13

Kwara State Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq on Friday inaugurated and called on his cabinet members to consider what legacies they would like to be remembered for in the discharge of their duties, saying the administration has a historical duty to change the narrative about the state.

He also sworn in members of the Civil Service Commission and the Deputy Chief of Staff Adebukola Risikat Babalola whose appointment was announced earlier Friday. He had earlier also named Architect Kale Belgore as Senior Adviser and Counsellor.

“Let me remind all of you that we are not necessarily the best out of the 3.5m people in this state. However, providence has placed on our shoulders the historic responsibility to take our people out of Egypt and safely into the Canaan land,” AbdulRazaq said at the inauguration ceremony at the Banquet Hall which was filled to the brim.

“This task requires focus, patience, sacrifice, tact, speed, and constant supplication to God Almighty to guide us every step of the way. We must engage, listen, and relate well with our people whose mandate has brought us here. In doing so, we must see the whole of Kwara as our constituency.”

The event was attended by hundreds of Kwarans and top government functionaries, including the Deputy Governor Kayode Alabi; Speaker of the House of Assembly Salihu Danladi Yakubu; Representative of the Chief Judge Justice Bayo Yusuf; Grand Kadi of Kwara State Ola Abdulkadir; principal officers and members of the House of Assembly; Secretary to the State Government Prof Mamman Jibril; Head of Service Modupe Oluwole; and Chief of Staff to the Governor Aminu Adisa Logun.

The Governor reminded the cabinet members of the need to always relate well with the public and to work together as a team, “stronger together, each watching the back of the other.”

He added: “The recent retreat has offered you a clearer picture of where Kwara stands today and where we are headed as a team. Whatever assignment given to you must be done with all sincerity. Think always about what you want to be remembered for when you leave this office.

“Our team is faced on the one hand by high expectations of a populace long deprived of good governance and on the other by detractors who may never see anything good in whatever we do or stand for. But rest assured that the only obligation before us as a team is to prove the naysayers wrong and deliver on our mandate to the people of Kwara State.

“We are to build a state that is viable, accountable, inclusive, responsive to the basic yearnings of its people, and is equipped with the necessary infrastructure and institutions to meet the challenges of the 21st century, while also welcoming constructive criticism to make us better at what we do. Iseya!”

The Governor meanwhile has assigned portfolios to the commissioners and the Special Advisers.

Aisha Ahman Pategi was assigned Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs; Ayinla Jawondo Suleiman (Justice); Arinola Fatimah Lawal (Water Resources); Murtala Olanrewaju (Communications); Aliyu Mohammed Saifudeen (Environment and Forestry); Sa’adatu Modibbo Kawu (Tertiary Education); Aliyu Sabi Kora (Energy); Ahmed Fatima Bisola (Education); Agbaje Wahab Femi (Enterprises); Suleiman Rotimi Iliasu (Works and Transports); Aremu Abosede Deborah (Social Development); Joana Nnazua Kolo (Youths and Sport); Adenike Afolabi Oshatimehin (Agriculture and Rural Development) Resources; Dr Raji Razak (Health); Oyeyemi Olasunbo Florence (Planning and Finance ); Oyedun Juliana Funke (Special Duties).

The Governor has also designated Saadu Salau as Special Adviser Political; Mr Yinka Aluko as Special Adviser on Special Duties; Attahiru Ibrahim as Special Adviser Youths and Sports, according to a statement by Chief Press Secretary Rafiu Ajakaye.


Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ayegbeni     Erubu Oba Zubair     Akorede     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     IEDPU     Mohammed Lawal Bagega     JUSUN     Millennium Development Goals     Ayekale     Gbenga Olawepo     Raji AbdulRasaq     BIR     Taofeek Sanusi     Ayobami Seriki     Kwara Hotel     Alabi Lawal     Ishola Moses Abiodun     Amusement Park     Mohammed Yisa     Okedare     Isiaka Abdulrazak     Standard Organization Of Nigeria     Malete     Abubakar B.M     Council Of The Wise     Dairo Kunle Paul     Shehu Salau     Agbarere     Kulende     Folaranmi Aro     Wahab Isa     Tunji Arosanyin     Haliru Yahaya     Patigi Regatta     Kolo     Moremi High School     Inside Kwara     Tunji Olawuyi     Kannike     Ilorin South Constituency     CKNG     Oluranti Idowu     PharmAccess Foundation     Samuel Adedoyin     Freshvine Nigeria Limited     Ilorin South     Col. Adedipe     Kwara Poly     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     IYA YUSUF     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Ibrahim Sulu Gambari     Sarkin Malamai     School Of Nursing     Computer Based Test     Oke-Ogun     Musa Alhassan Buge     SUBEB     Ilorin Durbar     Yusuf Abubakar     Onilorin     Tunde Yusuf     Olatunde Olukoya     Agboola Abdulraheem     Abdullahi G. Mohammad     Afonja Descendants Union     Adamu Attah     Muhammad Yahya     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Alagbado     Segun Adeniyi     Isapa     Tunji Oyawoye     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Tosho Yaqub     Isaac Aderemi Kolawole     International Aviation College    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Zubair Folorunsho Erubu     Oluranti Idowu     Toyosi Thomas     Gwanara     Musa Ayinla Yeketi     Abdulrazaq Akorede     John Olobayo     Muslim Cementary     Islamic Development Bank     Jide Oyinloye     Abdulkarim Adisa     Umar Ahmed Gunu     CACOVID     Ilorin.Info     Elections     Simeon Sayomi     SARS     Dan Iya     Modibbo Kawu     Gbajabiamila     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Mamatu Abdullahi     EndSARS     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Al-Hikmah Radio     Mohammed Abdulahi     COVID-19 Palliatives     Iyabo Adewuyi     Abdulrosheed Okiki     College Of Health     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Saadatu Modibbo-Kawu     KWTV     Isin     Oke-Oyi     Hakeem Idris     KWAFFA     Hijab     Oniye     Iyeru Grammar School     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Quareeb     Muhammad Yahya     Abdulsalam A. Yusuf     Nagode     Ilorin Talaka Parapo     Henry Makinwa     Garba Ado Sanni     Neo Mundo Ltd     Fatima Abolore Jimoh     Muhammad Akande Olarewaju Odunade     Kunle Suleiman     Abdulahi Abubakar Bata     Col. Ibrahim Taiwo     Split Diamond Interchange     Falokun-Oja     Oko     Post Utme     Bibire Ajape     Offa Descendants Union     Playing Host     Ilorin Water Reticulation     Kwara Restoration Project     Durosinlohun Kawu     Orire     Opobiyi     Bello Oyedepo     Ahman Pategi     Daud Adeshola     Valsolar     Saidu Kawu     Chief Imam Of Ilorin     Rotimi Atere     PharmAccess Foundation     KFA     Mogaji Aare     CCEPE