Kwara declares war on open defecation

Date: 2019-12-01

Kwara State government has launched prototypes of Integrated Modern Public Toilet in Ilorin, the state capital.

The governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, said the move is in consonance with the global consensus that open defecation must be ended by 2025. Currently, Nigeria occupies a regrettable position at the top of the list of countries with high incidence of open defecation. The North Central zone, where Kwara is, is today the epicentre of open defecation in Nigeria.

With this disturbing records in mind, AbdulRazaq last August 2019 gave an approval for the Ministry of Environment and Forestry to build Integrated Modern Public Toilets in deserving areas of Ilorin metropolis.

According to the Convener Kwara Youth Centre, Kayode Oyin-Zubair, a community of young professionals that partnered the ministry of environment to build three prototypes, the foresight of the governor will help in meeting the 2025 target.

"Governor AbdulRazaq has promised that before his government will begin any enforcement at stamping out open defecation, he would have provided befitting and standard toilet facilities in strategic places in the state. Water and sanitation are central to healthy living. We can only have hygienic environment when human and other forms of waste are properly disposed," he said.

The prototypes are built to be self-sustaining with their own source of energy serviced by underground water. There are bath and toilet wares on both male and female wings making a total of 10 rooms in each facility. Shops are built at the front and on the sides, to generate revenue for the maintenance of the facility.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Abdulkarim Adisa     2017 Budget     Aliyu Muhammed     Sunday Fagbemi     Muyiwa Oladipo Kanu     Hassan A. Saliu     Moshood Bakare     Awili Pedro     Saka Adeyemo     Isapa     Ibrahim Abiodun     Fatai Adeniyi Garba     Edu     Tunji Arosanyin     Ibrahim Abdullahi     Danladi     Saad Omo'ya     Amuda Musbau     Isiaka Oniwa     Jimba Babatunde     Abdulsalam Firdaous Amosa     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Sebastine Obasi     Idi-Ape     Oluwole Dupe     KWACOBPA     Olatunji Moronfoye     Metro Park     Akeem Olatunji     Shao     Arandun     Offorjama     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Societe Generale Bank Of Nigeria     Ahmed Bayero     College Of Education     Fatai Olodo     AbdulHamid Adi     Modibo Kawu     Okeose Christian Cementary     Ramadhan     Local Government     Odo-Owa     Obasanjo     Government House     Haliru Dantoro     Alfa Modibo Belgore     Aremu Bose Deborah     Mohammed Khadijat Kubura     Valsolar     Akume     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Gobirawa     Amuda Aluko     Ganmo     Idiagbon     IFK     Abubakar Aliagan     Gambari     Muritala Awodun     Sa'ad Alanamu     Bolaji Abdullahi     Tsaragi/Share     Agbarigidoma     Ayo Salami     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     IF-K     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     Mamman Saba Jibril     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Yakubu Danladi     Mashood Dauda     Ijagbo Health Centre     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Hassan Oyeleke     Nurudeen Mohammed