328 talents discovered at Youth Games - Dare

Date: 2019-10-15
The Minster of Youths and Sports Development, Mr Sunday Dare has revealed that 328 new talented athletes were discovered at the 5th National Youth Games in Ilorin. Dare who was speaking on the sidelines during the DARE conference organized by YouthHub Africa held in Abuja said plans were underway to restore the now comatose Principal's Cup.

"We will return to grassroots football development. When you see a 20 year old winning gold at championships, the journey started way back when the athlete was a child.

We just finished the National Youth Games in Ilorin and we discovered 328 talents in 28 different sports. These are young kids between the ages of 6 and 15 who have shown excellence in these sports and we tend to harness them. "We intend to bring back Principal's Cup that produced some of the greatest footballers we had over the time, he said. He further revealed that President Muhammadu Buhari will host Ese Brume and other athletes who have done the nation proud in the last one year.

"We are excited that Ese Brume, very young did us proud by breaking a 7-year old jinx to win medal. "We have written to the President, seeking for a date and time in which we bring all these stars together.

"We would fly them in and meet with the President to thank them on behalf of the country. This should happen between now and the first week of December," he said.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Idris Garuba     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Sarah Alade     Ajidagba     Yakubu Shaaba     Balogun Fulani     Gambari     Ilorin.Info     Sulyman Buhari     Iyabo Adewuyi     Yakub Lai Gobir     Nnazua     Ramadan     Afonja Descendants Union     Kayode Zubair     Shoprite     Apaola     Maryam A. Garuba     Igbomina     Muslim Cementary     Adesoye     Tunji Arosanyin     Kwarareports     Alapado     KWIRS     Sarakite     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Oladimeji Thompson     Christopher Ayeni     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Sheriff Shagaya     Roseline Oni Aremu     Kwara Hotel     Muhammad Yahya     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Abdulwahab Oba     Bamidele Adegoke     Abdulwahab Ololele     Ilorin International Airport     Abdullahi Saadudeen Alikinla     Abdulkadri Ahmad Alaiye     Raliat Elelu-Habeeb     Ayinke Saka     Ilorin West     Akande Idowu Ayoola Muhammed     General Hospital     Oke-Kura     Kwara     Mohammed Abduraheem     Kwara Central     Shagari     Eleja     Jimba Babatunde     Kwarareports.com     Abdulazeez Uthman     Saka Onimago     Third Estate     High Court     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Post-utme     Hamza Usman     Olayinka Olaogun     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Yahaya A Paniyaro     Tanke     Irepodun     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Amuda Aluko     Bisi Kristien     Bankole Omishore     Jaigbade Alao     Kwara Pdp     Galland Marcias     Shehu Jimoh     Mohammed Danjuma     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Babaita