Kwara Assembly seeks road safety during Sallah

Date: 2019-08-06
The Kwara State House of Assembly has called on the Federal Road Safety Corps and other security agencies to extend their areas of coverage and hours of operation to check carnage during the forthcoming Eld el- Kabir festival.

The appeal was made on Tuesday during the Assembly plenary following a Matter of General Public Importance on " The Need for Safe Driving During Sallah Festival" raised by the member representing Ojomu/Balogun Constituency, Hon Saheed Popoola and seconded by member representing Ilorin East Constituency, Hon Jimoh Aliyu Yusuf.

The House, which equally called for more sensitisation on safety measures by broadcast stations as a matter of social responsibility, enjoined Transport Unions to be alive to their responsibilities of monitoring the activities of their members during the sallah period to reduce road carnage.

Popoola had while raising the matter, observed that casualties usually characterised festive periods, occasioned by excessive speeding, among others.

Other members who spoke on the matter called for moderate eid el Kabir celebrations, pointing out that the period should be used for sober reflection on virtues of sacrifice, piety and love for one another to further enhance peace and progress of the country.

Meanwhile, the Assembly also approved the request of the State Governor, Alhaji Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, to appoint seven Special Advisers to ease governance and dividends of democracy in the state.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Bilikisu Oniyangi     The Herald     SUBEB     Saheed Popoola     John Dara     Sam Okaula     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Offa Poly     Alapado     Saka Keji     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Ajeigbe     UITH     Harmony Holdings     Firdaos Amasa     Oyelere Oyinloye     Logun     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Ojuekun     Obuh     AIT Ilorin     Muhammadu Buhari     Oloriegbe     EFCC     Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq     Aliyu Olatunji Ajanaku     Abdulazeez Arowona     Yahaya Oloriegbe     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Ope Saraki     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     SGBN     Toyin Sanusi     Abubakar Baba     Idowu Aremu     Yoruba     Amuda Musbau     John Obuh     Sobi FM     Mahfouz Adedimeji     Kwara North     Ojo Fadumila     Ayotunde Emmanuel Alao     Yusuf Ali     Third Estate     CCB     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Olaosebikan     Balogun Ajikobi     UTME     Adesoye     Salihu Ajia     Ogbondoroko     Gbenga Awoyale     Jebba     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Abikan     Manzuma     Cassava Growers' Association     Adijat Adebiyi     Hameed Oladipupo Ali     George Innih     Lafiagi     Amos Justus Sayo     Nurudeen Mohammed     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Onilu     Diagnostic Centre     Moses Salami     Police Commissioner     Adeleke Ogungbe     Jalala     Jaigbade Alao     Bahago     Bureau Of Lands     NYSC