Tension in Ilorin as PDP, APC Supporters Clash

Date: 2019-01-14

Members of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the opposition all progressives Congress (APC) in Kwara state clashed on Sunday in Ilorin metropolis.

It was gathered that, some suspected political thugs unleashed mayhem at Ode Alfa Nda, Agbaji and Ayelabegan communities in the Ilorin metropolis where many people were reportedly injured by gunshots fired by the thugs at a political rally.

It was also learnt that windscreen of many vehicles were broken by the thugs in the attack, while party supporters scampered for safety.

Speaking on the development, the Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO) of the state command, Ajayi Okasanmi, confirmed the incident, adding that investigation was ongoing to arrest perpetrators.

He also warned trouble makers, political parties and their leaders to caution their supporters, saying that anyone found culpable of election violence would be severely dealt with.

A statement by the media aide to the APC governorship candidate, Rafiu Ajakaye, said two persons, who were seriously injured by gunshots fired by the thugs, were receiving treatment at undisclosed hospital.

Ajakaye, who said that the Kwara APC governorship candidate, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, was quickly whisked away from the rally, called on security agencies to rise up and and tackle hooligans terrorising election campaign in the state.

Also, a member of the PDP, Baba Idris, said that two people, who were reportedly shot, later died, adding that more than 20 cars were destroyed in the Agbaji compound, Ilorin, during the mayhem.

Idris also said that families affected by the onslaught by the thugs include the őle Ottan, Sholagberu, Wopa, Olayeri, and Onilemarun families, adding that Alfa Nda, Imam Aliaganís car, was also destroyed.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Musa Yeketi     IEDPU     KSIRS     Abdulfatai Baakini     Mohammed Haruna     Ishola Balogun Fulani     Surajudeen Akanbi     Allocation     Kazeem Adekanye     TIC     Adebayo Salami     Isapa     Shonga Farm Project     Yoonus Lawal     Adijat Adebiyi     Tosin Saraki     Amasa     Basit Olatunji     Kwara 2019     Shao     Ayinde Oyepitan     Playing Host     Medview Airlines     Senate Presidency     Monkey Pox     Haliru Yahaya     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Ilorin West     Isau     Okasanmi Ajayi     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Riskat Opakunle     Cornelius Adebayo     Roseline Oni Aremu     Agbarere     Jalala     Henry Olaosebikan     Saadu Gbogbo Iwe     Yakub Lai Gobir     Post Utme     Ilorin.Info     Rotimi Atere     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Saka Onimago     Moses Afolayan     Wahab Abayawo     Goodluck Jonathan     Funmilayo Zubair     John Dara     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Kwara 2015     Kale Ayo     Ilorin     Salami Adekunle     Oloyede     Vasolar     Muritala Awodun     Yusuf Amuda Abubakar     Abdulganiyu Oladosu     Rafiu Ibrahim     Abdulmajeed Wahab     Egbejila     Gobir     Ilota     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Mohammed Halidu     Oja-Oba     Biliaminu Aliu     Orisun Igbomino     Labaeka     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Royal FM     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     Aro Yahaya     Bamidele Adegoke     Ahman Patigi     Akorede