Three die, five injured on their way to Kwara APC bye-election victory party

Date: 2018-11-20

Three people reportedly died, while no fewer than five people sustained varying degrees of injuries in an accident during the celebration of the victory of the Representative-elect of Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero Federal Constituency, Mr. Raheem Tunji Olawuyi.

Olawuyi was the candidate of the All Progressives Congress for the bye-election.

Our correspondent gathered on Monday that the deceased included Segun Adewara, Femi Olaye and Arandum women leader, whose name could not be ascertained as of the time of filing the report.

It was learnt that the accident occurred between Eleyin and Oke-Onigbin around 6 p.m on Sunday, when the victims were coming to join Olawuyi and other APC members and supporters for a victory party at Oro, in Irepodun Local Government Area of Kwara State.

The APC members were celebrating their victory in the bye-election to elect a replacement for late Funke Adedoyin, who represented the federal constituency at the House of Representatives before her demise on September 28.

It was gathered that the victims met Olawuyi’s team on their way going back to Omu-Aran, and decided to turn back.

Their vehicle was said to have had a head-on-collision with another vehicle as the driver of the incoming vehicle was allegedly trying to overtake a trailer.

Olawuyi’s media aide, Mr. Femi David, confirmed the accident to our correspondent.

He identified the dead victims to include the unnamed Arandun women leader, Segun Adewara, and Femi Olaye, adding that five other persons were injured.

In a statement, he said the tragedy was quite unfortunate and came to them as a rude shock.

David said, "We profoundly regret the unfortunate incident, while commiserating with the deceased’s families. We ask God to grant them the fortitude to bear the irreparable loss.

"We deeply mourn the departed souls, their contributions and sacrifice will remain evergreen in our memory. We ask God to grant them eternal rest."

He added, "We, however, state our unalloyed support for the families of the deceased. We will not let them down or rest on our oars in our quest to realise the Kwara of their dream. Their support was legendary and unprecedented.

"They remained resilient, dogged and committed in their quest for a just and egalitarian Kwara State. Their unwavering support earned us the victory in the bye-election.

"The freedom they stood for will be ruggedly pursued."




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Daud Adeshola     International Aviation College     College Of Health     Ojuekun     Baba-Isale     Onilu     Gbajabiamila     Kale Ayo     Saraki     IF-K     Gambari     Bolakale Ayo     Idi-Ape     Kwara Polytechnic     Kwara South     UTME     Ope Saraki     Mashood Dauda     Saheed Popoola     Labaeka     Ilorin Airport     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Idris Garba     Erubu Oba Zubair     Tinubu     Abikan     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     KWASAA     Olugbense     Aremu Odolaye     Cassava Growers' Association     Ayinde Oyepitan     Tsaragi-Share     Garba Ado Sanni     Tafida Of Kaiama     Jaiz Bank     BIR     Alapado     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Kazeem Adekanye     Kwara State Governor     Sam Okaula     Senate President     Diagnostic Centre     Yunus Oniboki     Saka Abimbola Isau     Toyin Saraki     Erin-ile     Isapa     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Shaaba Lafiagi     Hijab     Oyelere Oyinloye     Elerinjare     Ndakene     Michael Ologundea     Shehu Jimoh     Obasanjo     Kaiama     Harmony Holdings     Yomi Ogunsola     Quareeb     Kwara State Polytechnic     Muhammadu Buhari     Bilikisu Gambari     CCT     Leke Ogungbe     Amos Justus Sayo     Kisra     Sherif Sagaya     Muhammed Abdullahi     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Gobirawa     Bankole Omisore     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Bature Bello     Photo News