Customs Seizes Contraband Worth N142m

Date: 2018-10-12

Kassim told the News Agency of Nigeria in Minna on Thursday that the command supervises Niger, Kogi and Kwara state offices of the service.

He said 189 live ammunition worth N63 million was intercepted along Babanna Wawa axis of Niger, 1,955 bags of rice worth N31 million was also intercepted in different parts of the area command. He said: "We have seized 28 cars valued at N39 million and vegetable oil worth N1.2 million, as well as 189,000 textile materials, footwear worth N7.5 million."

He said that already, the command had adopted community-based approach in the fight against smuggling.

The comptroller explained that the approach would enable residents, especially those at the border areas to offer intelligent information that could aid field officers to apprehend those involved in the illegal businesses.

Kassim said: "We have also reached out to stakeholders, traditional and religious leaders in mobilising residents, especially those at the border posts to support our field officers with required intelligence information on movement of smugglers. “My area of supervision is no go area for any smugglers as we have put in place sensitive security measures that will frustrate their activities once and for all.

"We have also identified smugglers’ routes and deployed competent officers on strict surveillance while community leaders would be used to provide information to ensure their arrest and prosecution. "Our field officers had been briefed on how to fight smugglers."

He warned that the service would not spare any arrested smugglers and urged officers and men of the service to rededicate themselves to duty.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Rasaq Jimoh     Issa Oloruntogun     Gafaru Olayiwola Olorisade     Musa Yeketi     NYSC     Ayegbeni     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Saka Keji     Ladi Hassan     Shagari     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Kunle Okeowo     Oyun     Manzuma     Arandun     College Of Health     Dele Momodu     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Lafiagi     Funmilayo Zubair     Suleiman Ajadi     Gbenga Awoyale     Obuh     Unilorin     Adegoke Bamidele     Ilorin Airport     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Jani Ibrahim     Amuda Aluko     Oke-Oyi     John Mayokun Dada     Saidu Yaro Musa     Igbaja     Temitope Ogunbanke     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Osi     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Offa Poly     Olokoba     Gbugbu     KWASIEC     Taofik Abdulkareem     Federal Allocation     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     Quareeb     Gbemisola Saraki     Abdulraheem Olesin     Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Irepodun     Belgore     Saad Omo'ya     Umar Ahmed Gunu     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Olatunji Ibrahim     Mogaji Aare     Economic And Financial Crimes Commission     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Abdulrahman Abdulrazak     Amusa Bello     Toyin Saraki     Kwarareports     Wasiu Odewale     Bayo Ajia     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Saka Adeyemo     AIT Ilorin     Modupe Oluwole     Atunwa     Isiaka Danmeromu     The Herald     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     Isaac Gbenle     Tafidan Kaiama     Florence Saraki     Tunde Akanbi