Female cashier dragged to court over N4m fraud in Kwara

Date: 2017-12-14

A cashier with Iludun-Oro Micro Finance Bank, Irepodun local government area of Kwara State, Mrs Dupe Abolarin, has been dragged before an Ilorin Magistrate Court for allegedly defrauding the bank of a sum of four million naira (N4 million).

The accused, a 47-year old married woman, who was dragged before the court after she was reported to the police by the management of the Micro Finance Bank, was a cashier at the Isanlu-Isin branch in the Isin local government area of the state.

In the case, file number MCIA/840C/2016, the accused who hails from Eruku, Ekiti local government area of the state, was accused of criminal breach of trust.

The accused, who was said to have confessed during interrogation at the Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department, Ilorin, to have committed the offense, had also agreed to pay back in installment.

It was gathered that the bank had lodged a complaint against the accused person, who is an employee of the bank, on December 1, 2016, and that the accused had confessed to the commission of the offense.

Police First Information Report (FIR), reads: "That the Mrs Abolarin was posted to Isanlu-Isin branch as an officer in charge of cash centre; that she defrauded the bank and customers to the tune of N4,089,267. After verification, it was discovered that there was no remittance of the said amount of money into the bank’s coffers which she acknowledged.

"That in the course of the investigation at the Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department, Ilorin, Kwara State capital she made a confessional statement agreeing to have committed the offense."

The accused, before her arrest and subsequent transfer to the Kwara State police headquarters in Ilorin, was said to have bolted away to Lagos State.

The case, which came up on Wednesday for mention before Magistrate I O Olawoyin, was adjourned to January 10, 2018, for hearing.

Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ganmo     Tsaragi     Tinubu     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Ejidongari     Musa Yeketi     Kwara Restoration Project     Muhammadu Gobir     Kwarareports     Sunday Otokiti     Jimoh Lambe Abdulkareem     Florence Saraki     Taofik Abdulkareem     Shaaba Lafiagi     KSIRS     Sabo-Oke     Ramadhan     Olatunji Moronfoye     March 28     Abdulazeez Uthman     Tope Daramola     Labaeka     Village Alive Development Association     Moji Makanjuola     Photo News     College Of Health     Adam Abdullahi Al-Ilory     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Ubandawaki     Abegunde Goke     Esuwoye     Abdulkadir Orire     Idyat Omolola Isiaq     IF-K     Abdulkadri Ahmad Alaiye     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Sam Okaula     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Yakub Lai Gobir     Clara Nwachukwu     Matthew Babaoye     LEAH Charity Foundation     Halimat Yusuf     Bond     Baaziki Sulaiman     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Reuben Paraje     COEASU     Isiaka Yusuf     Henry Olaosebikan     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Isiaka Oniwa     Kwara Polytechnic     Abdulrasheed Okiki     Oba Sulaiman Asude     Al-Ilory     Lukman Adeloyin     Galland Marcias     Balogun Ajikobi     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Mustapha Akanbi     Balogun Fulani     Demola Banu     Firdaos Amasa     Valsolar     Olugbense     Segun Adeniyi     Ahmed     Alfa Belgore     John Obuh     Idris Garba     Solomon Edoja     Kehinde Baale     Sherif Shagaya     Musibau Akanji     Ijagbo Health Centre     Ope Saraki