Kwara LG Poll: PDP, others fail to file petition as 14-day ultimatum lapsed

Date: 2017-12-07
The election tribunal panel constituted by the Kwara State Government for the local government election held 18th November, 2017, has not received any petition from any political party, Pilot Politics learnt last night.

The election panel, headed by magistrate Nurudeen Adeyanju were constituted to look into complaint that might arise from the conduct of the poll across the 16 local governments of the state.

A source close to the panel disclosed to this medium that the 14 days required by law to file petitions after the poll had been conducted has lapsed.

He added that failure of persons or political parties that participated in the poll to submit petition in 14 days following the announcement of the result of the poll on 19 November has automatically nullified the process. It was gathered that no petition were submitted by the opposition parties in the state.

He said the panel will not attend to any person who may come to fill petition since the stipulated file for the process has expired.

"No party so far has approached the panel to file any petition, we waited for them but they did not come, this implies, they are all satisfied with the conduct of the poll especially the results.

"The 14 days ultimatum required by law to file petition have elapsed and no one can file anything again, even if they come, we won't collect it because it is against the law,' he stressed.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Bankole Omisore     Asa     Sherif Sagaya     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Aisha Buhari     Jamiu Oyawoye     Amosa     Abdulwahab Oba     Patigi Regatta     George Innih     Ibrahim Oniye     Babata     Moji Makanjuola     Abdulhakeem Adelaja Amao     CCB     EFCC     Isiaka Gold     Ahmad Ali     Baba Isale     Olayinka Are     Idi-Ape     Musa Ayinla Yeketi     Valsolar Consultoria     Shonga     Ayinde Oyepitan     Suleiman Idris     Igbaja     Akume     Abdullahi Atanda     Alanamu     Oye Tinuoye     UTME     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Seni Saraki     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Lola Ashiru     Balogun Ajikobi     SGBN     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Rex Olawoye     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Ilorin West/Asa Federal Constituency     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Apaokagi     Emir Of Ilorin     Code Of Conduct     Aro Yahaya     Kanu Agabi     Sa'adu Gambari     Ajibike Katibi     Samuel Adaramola     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Mohammed Haruna     Saidu Isa     Guber Aspirant     Idowu Aremu     Shoprite     Minister     Bahago     Kwara 2015     Al-Adaby     Kazeem Adekanye     Halimat Yusuf     Adamu Atta     Valsolar     Dogara     Saka Onimago     COEASU     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Borgu     Ayotunde Emmanuel Alao     Students Union Government     Kwara     Abdulkadir Akanbi-Oke     Amuda Bembe