Kwara won't use card readers for November council polls - KWASEIC

Date: 2017-08-12

The Kwara lndependent Electoral Commission on Friday said it would not use card readers for the forthcoming council polls in the state.

The commission's Chairman, Dr AbdukRahman Ajidagba, announced this at a meeting with representatives of registered political parties in his office in Ilorin on Friday.

The chairmanship and councillorship elections into the 16 local governments have been scheduled for Nov. 4.

Ajidagba said the state was not financially buoyant to acquire card readers for the council polls.

"We abandoned the use of card readers for the local government elections to avoid hitches that may occur from the machines while the elections are in progress."

The Kwara electoral commission boss, however, promised a credible, reliable and fair election even without the card readers.

Ajibagba, who described the political parties as the major players in the conduct of the election, solicited their cooperation and support for the success of the exercise.

He also advised the representatives of the parties not to incite the electorate before, during and after the elections, saying no credible poll could be achieved in an atmosphere of chaos and acrimony or violence.

He said the commission would soon release the time table for the polls to enable stakeholders to fully prepare for the exercise.

Speaking on behalf of the parties, Mr Theophlius Sunday, the Vice-Chairman of the People's Democratic Party and former Chairman of Moro Council, assured the commission of their readiness to ensure a successful poll.

Representatives of 30 political parties attended the meeting.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Olaitan Adefila     Sandal     Sherif Sagaya     Mustapha Olanipekun     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Na'Allah     Wale Oladepo     Mohammed Abduraheem     Sarakite     Femi Gbajabiamila     Jamiu Oyawoye     IF-K     Abdulhakeem Amao     Gbemi Saraki     Aiyedun     Elerinjare     Sunday Otokiti     Tanke     Simeon Ajibola     Quran     Village Alive Development Association     Is'haq Modibbo Kawu     Shehu Jimoh     Moses Afolayan     Onilorin Of Ilorin     IFK     Saad Omo Iya     BIR     Yakubu Dogara     Maigidasanma     Medview Airlines     Kwasu     Musa Alhassan Buge     Ijakadi     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Moses Salami     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     Abdulrasheed Na'Allah     Saraki     Omu-aran     Hassan Oyeleke     Salihu Ajia     Agbarigidoma     Saidu Kawu     Olatunji Moronfoye     Gbajabiamila     KFA     Eleyele     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     National Pilot     Kale Ayo     Ramadhan     Zulu Gambari     Hassan A. Saliu     Omupo     AIT Ilorin     Christopher Ayeni     Yunus Lawal     Alanamu     Vasolar Consultoria     Kayode Oyin Zubair     Baba Isale     Yekeen Alabi     Bayo Lawal     Yakub Lai Gobir     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Yinka Aluko     Afonja Descendants Union     Mufutau Olatinwo     Kawu     Maigida Soludero Transit     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Niyi Osundare     Adeleke Ogungbe     Isin     Orisun Igbomino     Kwara North