Madrasah flogging: Kwara committee holds inaugural meeting

Date: 2021-10-15

The Committee on the recent flogging of some Arabic students in Ganmo Area of Ifelodun Local Government in Kwara State has assured the concerned parties that they will be transparent and fair to all with a view to arriving at acceptable and just recommendations.

The Chairman of the Committee, Justice Idris Haroon (Rtd), gave the assurance in Ilorin on Friday during the inaugural meeting of the Committee.

Kwara State Governor AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq had nominated 10 prominent Muslim scholars, community leaders and government officials to investigate the circumstances around the recent excessive flogging of some Arabic students in Ganmo area of the state.

The committee is chaired by retired Justice Idris Haroon. Other members are Hon. Commissioner for Education and Human Capital Development Hajia Sa’adatu Modibbo Kawu; Special Assistant to the Governor on Religion (Islam) Alhaji Ibrahim Dan Maigoro; Prof. Hamzat Abdulraheem; Prof Badmus Yusuf; Prof. Ali Agan; Dr. Mohammed Ghali Alaya; Dr. Saudat AbdulBaqi; Hajia Balikis Oladimeji of the Federation of Muslim Women Associations of Nigeria (FOMWAN); Mallam Lawal Olohungbebe; and Dr AbdulHameed Sanni (Secretary).

Justice Haroon noted that the fact that people protested the development showed the said corporal punishment was distasteful, abnormal, and unacceptable to society and Islam itself.

"A school of whatever system of education is a small world or community for moulding the younger generations for future leadership and usefulness to their immediate and larger communities of man. In order to achieve this, it is necessary to inculcate in them such qualities and etiquettes which are bases of life in order to develop their potentials and talents", he said.

"Reward and discipline are of great significance to achieve these objectives. It must be emphasised that both reward and discipline have laid down mechanisms through which they are attained. If the reward could be earned through examination results, prizes and scholarships, then the aspect of discipline must not just be restricted to beating, caning or inflicting punishments that can cause injuries. Punishment must be cautiously carried out to avoid a situation where it thwarts the efforts of building a child. Thus, punishment must be constructive and not destructive."

Justice Haroon assured that the committee would come up with recommendations on reward and discipline methods that would prevent such occurrence in the state.

"The committee will diligently discharge onerous task placed before it to the best of our ability and wisdom with transparency and fear of Allah to justify the confidence reposed in us by the Executive Governor of our dear state of harmony and to come up with acceptable reward and discipline methods that will prevent such occurrence in the state," he added.

In her remark, Commissioner for Education and Human Capital Development, Hajia Sa'adatu Modibbo Kawu, said she had earlier held meetings with proprietors of Arabic and Islamic Schools to deepen their engagements with the government.

She expressed hope that the committee, working with all stakeholders, would come up with a good structure for Arabic and Islamic Schools and prevent future occurrence of such incident.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ganmo Electricity Sub-Station     Grillo     NIPR     Joseph Offorjama     Dele Belgore     2017 Budget     Kwara State Sports Commission     Isau     High Court     Arik     Musibau Akanji     Lanre Issa Onilu     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Is\'haq Modibbo Kawu     Sola Saraki Educational Foundation     Babaloja-General     Kwara 2023     Akanbi-Oke     Erubu     Baaziki Sulaiman     Abdul-Rahoof Bello     Najim Yaasin     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Ibrahim Taiwo     Senate     Funmi Salau     Kola Adesina     Yahaya Abdulkareem     National Party Of Nigeria     Fatai Adeniyi Garba     Umar Saro     Adaramaja     Saka Asiat Ayinke     Ahmad Uthman     Muslim Stakeholders Of Kwara State     Muhammadu Gobir     S.O. Opowoye     Kisira     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Muyideen Ajani Bello     Tsaragi-Share     Bisi Kristien     Jaiz Bank     Amusement Park     Raymond Olaitan     Ilorin South Constituency     Aminat Ahmed     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Kwara Restoration Project     Ubandoma     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     Tunde Yusuf     Makama Of Ilorin     Shagari     Kwara State Council Of Chiefs     Ilorin Airport     Aliyu Umar     Yusuf AbdulRasheed     Saad Omo Iya     Sandal     M.Y. Abdulrahaman     Amos Justus Sayo     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Kunbi Titiloye     Idiagbon     Ajibola Ademola Julius     Simeon Ajibola     Folashade Omoniyi     Shehu Alimi Foundation For Peace And Development     Monthly Sanitation     JAAC     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Haruna Olawale Sulaiman     SUBEB     Ohoro Of Shao     Ahmed Idris Mohammed    

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Idiagbon     Alabe     Afolayan     Rex Olawoye     Eleyele     Olokoba Sulyman     Ajasse-Ipo     Transition Implementation Committee     Isaac Aderemi Kolawole     Baba-Isale     Ahman Patigi     Aliyu Salihu     Ayobami Seriki     Bashiru Makama     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Kabir Shagaya     Ahman Pategi     Abdulrazaq Adebayo     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Adamu Ibrahim Sabi     John Olajide Adedipe     Abubakar Lah     Lola Ashiru     Olajumoke Monsura Gafar     Saad Omo Iya     Donatus Ejidike     Tosho Yaqub     Femi Ogunsola     Oyedun Juliana Funke     Bilikis Oladimeji     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Gbenga Awoyale     Saka Asiat Ayinke     Village Alive Development Association     Pius Abioje     United Nigeria Congress Party     Oko-Erin     Erin-ile     Abdulrazaq Akorede     Alimi     Ijakadi     Tsaragi-Share     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Oba Abdulkadir La\'aro     Kunle Suleiman     Yahaya Abdulkareem     Asa     Dumagi     Ejidongari     Kayode Bankole     Abdulganiyu Oladosu     Ganmo     Irepodun     NYSC     Ibrahim Kayode Adeyemi     Danladi     Kunbi Titiloye     Adamu Atta     Temitope Ogunbanke     YAKOOYO     Mohammed Abduraheem     Principal Private Secretary     Ibrahim Bio     CELF     Tope Daramola     Saka Isau     Ayodele Shittu     School Of Nursing     Sobi FM     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Bayo Ajia     Haliru Dantoro     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Ilorin Emirate Staff Association     Binta Abubakar-Mora     Sayomi