Four to die by hanging in Kwara

Date: 2019-03-07
A Kwara state High Court sitting in Ilorin, the state capital has sentenced a notorious criminal, Olatunji Ibrahim Ariyo and four others to death.

Others include Ganiyu Sulyman Yaro, Timothy Oyebanji, Lukman Olateju Sanda and Akeem Olayinka (deceased).

They are to die by hanging, the court said.

Ariyo who is popular in the state capital for his nefarious activities.

In her judgement, Justice Adenike Akinpelu said that the convicts were tried on a six-count charge for the offences of criminal conspiracy, armed robbery, causing mischief by fire and theft contrary to section 6 (b) and 1 (2) of the Robbery and Firearms Act, Laws of Federation of Nigeria 2004 and sections 337 and 286 of the Penal code.

The court held that on 25th April, 2015, the convict committed the said offences at Agbarere area, in Ilorin.

"Each of the convicts is sentenced to imprisonment for a term of two years and the sum of N25,000 is imposed as fine on each of them on count 5 for causing mischief by fire.

"Each of the convict is sentenced to death to be executed pursuant to Robbery and Firearms Act on count 1, 2, 3 and 4 for the offences of criminal conspiracy to commit armed robbery and armed robbery respectively.

Making appearance for the prosecution are the state Director of Public Prosecution, Barr. Abdulmumini Adebimpe Jimoh, Senior State Counsels, Kayode Adekeye and B. O Banigbe.

Toyin Muhammed Onanolapo appeared for the first accused while Ayodeji Azeez represented the second accused in the matter.

Ariyo with his gang were said to have invaded homes of no fewer than eight families in Ilorin metropolis to carry out robbery attacks.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Oloje     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     Sa'ad Alanamu     Admiralty Villa     Sabi     Tunji Moronfoye     Abdulkadir Orire     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Mohammed Abduraheem     Ramadhan     Sandal     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Ayo Opadokun     Plat Technologies     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Kazeem Adekanye     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Federal Polytechnic Offa     Senate Presidency     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Iyabo Adewuyi     Aminat Omodara     Eleyele     S.O. Opowoye     NAWOJ     Ahmed Mohammed Rifun     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Quran     Jimba Babatunde     Kunle Okeowo     Code Of Conduct Tribunal     Maigida Soludero Transit     Vasolar-Kwara Company Ltd     Oja-Oba     Ramadan     Buari Edun     Olatunji Bamgbola     Femi Ogunsola     TIC     Ijagbo     Share/Tsaragi     EFCC     Ope Saraki     Yunus Lawal     Kwara State Governor     Bureau Of Lands     Local Government Pension Board     Yakubu Shaaba     Amasa     Micheal Imoudu     Olugbense     Olateju Lukman     Funmi Salau     MAI Akande     Quranic Recitation Competition     Oyawoye     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Mustapha Akanbi     Haliru Yahaya     Akume     Abiodun Abdulkareem     NSCIA     Ekweremadu     Chief Of Staff     Sobi FM     Ibrahim Abduquadri Abikan     08001000100     Akeem Lawal     Okeose Christian Cementary     Abubakar Baba     Na'Allah     Tsaragi     Lai Mohammed     VADA     Oke-Oyi     Kwara Liberation Group     Saka Adeyemo