Kwara APC gov candidate accuses Senator's loyalists of mayhem

Date: 2019-01-15

THE political tension in Kwara State ahead of the elections, yesterday, thickened as the governorship candidate of All Progressives Congress, APC, Alhaji Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, claimed that political thugs working for a top politician in the state and a Senator, on Sunday, killed one of his supporters, wounded 50 others and vandalised 30 vehicles.

Abdulrazaq named the dead APC faithful as Abdulrasheed Oloduowo.

He called on the Police to arrest seven thugs (names withheld) allegedly behind the attacks.

At a briefing, Abdulrazaq, surrounded by party chieftains, other candidates, aides and supporters, said: "The ugly incident perpetrated by well known marauders and agents of the senator occurred at about 12noon, while APC members from Ilorin West and their friends from other parts of Ilorin metropolis gathered for their party rally with a view to sensitising APC members on the forthcoming general election.

"The security agents became helpless when well-armed thugs numbering about 50 invaded the venue of the programme, Ode Alfa NDA, Pakata Road, Ilorin, and unleashed terror on innocent APC members and supporters.

"The governorship candidate and the House of assembly candidate were only lucky to have escaped unhurt because of the tight security around them. Many members of our great party had to run away to save their dear lives, while some others were not that lucky.

"They sustained various degrees of injuries. In short, the hoodlums had their way as they succeeded in disrupting the programme. Those injured include Yusuf Alagbede and Jaji Adeola, among others. All of them are now receiving treatment at different hospitals in Ilorin."




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Oniye     Muhammadu Gobir     Kwara Hotel     Ope Saraki     Babata     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Oye Tinuoye     Bukola Saraki     Share     Ojo Fadumila     Bamikole Omishore     Clara Nwachukwu     Isiaka Gold     Alaiye     Shuaib Abdulkadir     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Tosin Saraki     Admiralty Villa     Towobola Abdulrahman Toyin     Gobirawa     Labaeka     Lai Gobir     Yomi Ogunsola     GRA     Adijat Adebiyi     Baba Isale     Idiagbon     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Omotosho     Idi-Ape     Mashood Dauda     Saadu Alanamu     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Agbarere     Aminat Ahmed     Council Of The Wise     College Of Health     Isaac Aderemi Kolawole     Demola Banu     Bukola Ajikobi     Sherif Shagaya     AbdulGaniyu Kareem     National Pilot     Akume     Ogbondoroko     Imam Gambari     Yinka Aluko     Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq     Ibrahim Bio     Kwara State Governor     Chief Of Staff     Temitope Ogunbanke     Ajasse-Ipo     Tsaragi     Boko Haram     Wale Oladepo     Abdulwahab Oba     Olaosebikan     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Segun Adeniyi     Kunle Suleiman     Baba-Isale     Kayode Issa     Ahmed     Patigi Regatta     Saidu Kawu     Shao     Mohammed Yisa     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     VADA     Ilofa     Buari Edun     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Emir Of Ilorin     Ahmad Ali     Belgore     Erubu Oba Zubair