Kwara: Police suspends vigilante activities till after bye-election

Date: 2018-11-15
Kwara State Police Command has assured the people of the state of its readiness to provide adequate security of lives and property of the populace, particularly people of the Irepodun/Oke Ero/Isin/Ekiti federal constituency before, during and after Saturday's bye-election.

The command also suspended the activities of vigilante groups that have been assisting in the area of intelligence gathering and security till after the election.

In a statement signed on Wednesday by the state's command PPRO, DSP Okesanmi Ajayi, it said the command has finalised all necessary plans to make the election hitch-free and solicited the cooperation of all stakeholders.

"Thuggery, hooliganism, vote buying, destruction/defacing of bill boards and banners will not be tolerated.

"The command is aware of the support and cooperation of members of Vigilante Groups of Nigeria in Kwara, in the area of intelligence gathering and other security assistance, but for the purpose of the forthcoming by-election in the above local government areas, their activities in the affected areas are hereby suspended until the conclusion of the elections.

"Intelligence report available to the Command indicated that VGN uniform will be worn by miscreants to cause security breach during the elections. Any body found adorning that uniform between Friday to Monday will be arrested and prosecuted accordingly," the statement read

The Command therefore assured the people of Kwara state of its capacity to provide security for their lives and property as enshrined in Nigeriaís constitution, adding that information about strange movements in their environment should be reported to police.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Oye Tinuoye     Olayinka Olaogun     ARMTI     SGBN     Abubakar Suleiman     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Umar Bayo Abdulwahab     Aliyu Salihu     Fulani     Olaoye B. Felix     Isaac Aderemi Kolawole     Ahmed Bayero     Kisra     Malete     Umar Sanda Yusuf     Amuda Musbau     Idiagbon     UTME     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     EFCC     Ganmo     CCT     Al-Ilory     Salihu Yahaya     Halidu Danbaba     Kwara Liberation Group     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Sarakite     Ijakadi     Ajeigbe     Olushola Saraki     Bureau Of Lands     Mohammed Yisa     Garba Ado Sanni     Oyelere Oyinloye     Abubakar Baba     Bello Bature     AbdulGaniyu Kareem     Baakini     Mohammed Lawal     Yusuf Abdulwahab     Omoniyi Ayinla     Muhammed Danjuma     Abdulrazaq Akorede     Odogun Olushola Gabriel     School Of Nursing     Modupe Oluwole     Opobiyi     GRA     Maja     Kwara     Ishola Abdullahi     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Elelu     Senate Presidency     Tafidan Kaiama     Yusuf Aiyedun     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Mohammed Alabi Lawal     LAK Jimoh     Dairo Kunle Paul     Rotimi Atere     Solomon Edoja     Yusuf Abdulraheem     Olokoba Abdullahi Ayinla     Council Of The Wise     Joseph Yemi Ajayi     Abdulrahman Abdulrazak     John Dara     Borgu     S.O. Opowoye     Okasanmi Ajayi     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Women For Change And Development Initiative     Baba-Isale     Kayode Oyin-Zubair