APC, PDP Pick Candidates for Kwara By-election

Date: 2018-11-06

Ahead of the November 17 bye-election to fill the vacant position of late Hon. Funke Adedoyin, who represented Ekiti/Isin/Oke-Ero/Ifelodun federal constituency in the House of Representatives, Kwara State All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Mr. Abdulraheem Olawuyi, yesterday emerged through affirmation.

Also yesterday, Mr. Saheed Alatishe emerged the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the federal constituency through affirmation.

Late Adedoyin died after a brief illness at an Abuja hospital September this year.

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had last week fixed November 17 for the bye-election to replace Adedoyin. The APC primary took place in Omu-Aran, headquarters of Irepodun Local Government Area of the state.

Earlier, state Chairman of APC, Hon Bashir Bolarinwa, urged the party members to be united and work for the party's victory.

He added that members adopted a consensus mode as recognised by the party's constitution.

Bolarunwa, who said members should observe one minute silence for late Adedoyin, said she got to the National Assembly in 2015 on the platform of APC.

He added that "the election will be a test case for APC in the state. It will also afford us the opportunity to show Kwara people and Nigerians that in 2019, APC will take over the government."

Chairman of the APC electoral panel, Dr. Usman Zanna, hailed the conduct of the party members.

Zanna is optimistic that APC would emerge victorious at all levels in the 2019 elections.

He added that "if you are united and firm, nobody will be able to penetrate your ranks."

In his response, Olawuyi thanked the constituents for the confidence reposed in him.

He promised to be loyal party member, saying: “My joy knows no bound, and this is not because I am the best candidate, but for the confidence reposed in me.”




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Abdulhakeem Amao     Ajase-Ipo     LEAH Charity Foundation     Gbenga Olawepo     BIR     Saka Isau     Olayinka Are     Ibrahim Abdullahi     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Guber Aspirant     Mohammed Abdulahi     Balogun Ajikobi     Isin     Saka Adeyemo     Ibrahim Gambari     Awodun     Amos Justus Sayo     QuickWin     CCT     Ramadhan     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Quareeb Islamic Association     Ilorin International Airport     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Usman Rifun     Oba Sulaiman Asude     Monsurat Omotosho     Henry Makinwa     Arandun     Radio Kwara     Oyin-Zubair     Fatai Garuba Labaka     Transition Implementation Committee     Hassan Oyeleke     Gafaru Olayiwola Olorisade     Moronfoye     Ohoro Of Shao     Raliat Elelu-Habeeb     Ubandawaki     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Niyi Osundare     Valsolar     Omoniyi M. Ayinla     Ayo Opadokun     Femi Ogunsola     Clara Nwachukwu     Firdaos Amasa     Olaosebikan     SUBEB     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Yusuf A. Usman     Reuben Paraje     Borgu     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Ganmo     Split Diamond Interchange     Tunde Oyawoye     Abdulraheem Yusuf     Omupo     VADA     General Hospital     Omu-aran     Maigida Soludero Transit     Playing Host     Olatunji Bamgbola     Kawu     April 11     Abdul-Rasheed Na 'Allah     Kwara North     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     Shoprite     A.E. Afolabi     Omu Aran     Isiaka Oniwa     Kola Bukoye