Kwara Deputy Speaker doles out N2m to Jebba fire victims

Date: 2018-04-16

The Deputy Speaker, Kwara State House of Assembly, Hon. Mathew Okedare at the weekend presented cash worth N2 million to victims of the recent fire disaster in Jebba, Moro Local Government Area.

The beneficiaries numbering about 70 who suffered varying degrees of losses were given cash donations as palliative measures by the donor to cushion the effect of their losses.

Presenting the cash donations, the legislator, who represents Lanwa/Ejidongari Constituency, said the gesture was borne out of his desire to assist the victims in order to ameliorate their sufferings as a result of their losses to the inferno.

Okedare said further that he was deeply touched by the recent incident which was the reason he went out of his way to provide succour for the affected people.

Importantly, the deputy speaker stressed that it was very pertinent that he rendered the assistance to the victims due to the fact that inferno affected their main sources of income and their contributions to economic development of the community.

He, however, called on both the Federal and State Governments to expedite action by coming to the victims' aid through both moral and financial assistance to them so they could start their various businesses again.

Similarly, the lawmaker appealed to philanthropists and well spirited individuals to support the victims.

Earlier, the All Progressives Congress Chairman in Moro Local Government, Alhaji Sanusi Oladimeji appreciated the donor for his support, noting that it would go a long way in reducing their hardship.

The beneficiaries while appreciating the deputy speaker for his humanitarian gesture prayed God to continue to guide his activities and endeavours.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Alimi Abdulrazaq     Gobir     Kishira     Bilikisu Oniyangi     Olatunde Olukoya     Tunde Akanbi     Jimba Babatunde     Saidu Yaro Musa     Arca Santa     Mamatu Abdullahi     Musa Alhassan Buge     Salihu Jibril Garbi     Susan Modupe Oluwole     Millennium Development Goals     Yakub Lai Gobir     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Saka Isau     Ilofa     Olomu Of Omu-Aran     College Of Health     Mohammed Abdulahi     Saidu Isa     EFCC     Ijagbo     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Oke-Oyi     Kola Bukoye     Ekweremadu     Omotosho     Mustapha Akanbi     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Olatunji Moronfoye     Iqra Books     Balogun Fulani     NSCIA     Kayode Oyin Zubair     Rueben Parejo     Computer Based Test     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     IEDPU     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Akeem Lawal     Bolakale Ayo     Cassava Growers' Association     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Patigi Regatta     Akume     Ojo Fadumila     Isiaka Yusuf     Senate     Isau     Lanre Issa Onilu     Biliaminu Aliu     Oniwa     Wahab Abayawo     Post-utme     College Of Education     Moses Adekanye     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     Oba Abdulrahim     General Hospital     Senate Presidency     Saliu Alamoyo     Mohammed Lawal     Awodun     Ijakadi     Abdulkarim Adisa     Isaac Aderemi Kolawole     Amuda Bembe     Taofeek Sanusi     Alagbado     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Baba Isale     Khadijat Ayoola Yusuf     Eruku     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege