Group kicks against Kwara candidate as INEC REC

Date: 2018-01-22

Group under the aegis of Zealous Kwara Youths has kicked against the nomination of the Kwara state Independent Electoral Commission (KWAISEC), Dr Uthman Ajidagba as resident electoral commission (REC) of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The group added that the antecedents of the University of Ilorin (UNILORI) political science lecturer showed "the people of Kwara state that he ins incapable of organizing free and fair elections.

Already the group said it had petitioned President Muhammadu Buhari, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Senate President Bukola Saraki not approve the nomination of Dr Ajidagba.

Addressing reporters at the weekend in Ilorin, the state capital, President of the group, John Adegboyega said: "It is with sadness and concern to state the immediate and future danger if the nomination of Dr Ajidagba is given approval to as a REC in REC. for those who may not be aware, Dr Ajidagba from 2013 up till today holds the portfolio as KWASIEC chair.

"We wish to make it public knowledge that his stewardship over the past years has been dogged with controversies. Elections that have been held under his stewardship have always been trailed with disputes and controversies. In view of his antecedents, it becomes our responsibility as patriotic citizens of our country to inform of the situation before it becomes an issue.

‘Permit us to put record that since the meritorious stewardship of Prof Attahiru Jega as the Chairman of INEC, the rating of electoral conduct in Nigeria has improved dramatically to the extent that our beloved country now exports expertise on electoral matters to other countries.

"It will thus be a crime beyond quantification to lower the standard by allowing an individual having a record of stage-managing highly flawed and controversial council elections in Kwara state to find a portfolio in INEC.

"We use this medium to appeal to members of the National Assembly to use this our petition as a tool to take a cursory look at all the individuals so nominated by the presidency and especially nomination coming from the Kwara state. Especially as you were bold enough to stand against the nomination of Ibrahim Magu from being confirmed as the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

"We implore you all to put party affiliations and other sentiments aside."


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Ilesha-Baruba     Alao Ayotunde     Buari Edun     Olayinka Are     Gbenga Olawepo     Allocation     Kwara Apc     Yakubu Dogara     Ayodele Olaosebikan     Isiaka Yusuf     Maigida Soludero Transit     Omu-aran     Centre For Peace And Strategic Studies     Kisra     Malete     Olomu     Ohoro Of Shao     Saidu Yaro Musa     Ayinde Oyepitan     Abdulhakeem Amao     Mamatu Abdullahi     Suleiman Abubakar     Saka Saadu     AIT Ilorin     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Quareeb     Dele Belgore     GRA     Zulu Gambari     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Saidu Kawu     Popo-Igbonna     Laduba     Daud Adeshola     Kwara State Government     Alagbado     Sobi Specialist Hospital     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Sheriff Shagaya     Alabi Lawal     Mohammed Yahaya Barki     Tsaragi     Pius Abioje     Tinubu     Iqra Books     Saraki     Ilorin South     Students Union Government     Abdulrazak Shehu Akorede     Baakini     Igbaja     Falokun-Oja     Oyawoye     Temitope Ogunbanke     Orisun Igbomino     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Balogun Ajikobi     JAMB     Jimoh Olusola Imam     Mumeen Lah     Isapa     Ahmed 'Lateef     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Muideen Olaniyi Alalade     Tsaragi-Share     Suleiman Ajadi     Awili Pedro     Isin     Ajasse-Ipo     Tanke     Al-Ilory     Gbenga Awoyale     Bello Bature     Kwara     Rex Olawoye     Ayegbeni