Court convicts three men in Kwara over murder threat

Date: 2018-01-10

A Magistrate Court sitting in Ilorin, Kwara State on Tuesday sentenced three men to six years jail-term for threatening to kill a woman.

ROYAL NEWS gathered that the convicts sentenced by Chief Magistrate Kudirat Yahaya are, Alhaji Alabi, Saliman Iyanda and Suleiman Alao.

They were each sentened to two years imprisonment with option of fine of N15,000 for each of the three count charges. However the total of six years jail terms are to run concurrently which means the convicts would spend two years in jail if they were unable to pay N15,000 fines for each convict.

The now convicts stood trial on three charges of criminal trespass and criminal intimidation against a now 91 year old woman, Mrs. Sadatu Bello which is contrary to Sections 97, 348 and 397 of Penal Code Law.

According to the First Information Report, obtained by our correspondent in Ilorin, complainant, Bello, who was by had on May 13, 2016, through Saraa Chambers, sent a p petition to the Commissioner of Police, Kwara State Command.

The petition was then endorsed by then CP to the Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department in Ilorin, for discreet investigation.

The statement said, "That some years ago, she (Bello) inherited parcel of land measuring 279 feet by 243 feet from her later father, Alhaji Bello Belukor, one of the past Balogun Alanamu.

"That the parcel of land situate at Olorunda village along Ilorin-Ogbomosho road." Bello said sometimes in the month of February, 2016; when she visited the said parcel of land with her children; she met Alabi, Iyanda and Alao; all of Olorunda village along Ilorin-Ogbomosho road to have conspired with one another, entered the said land and also threatened to kill her, if she ventured to come back to the said land again.

"Investigation conducted at the CIID revealed that you, Alhaji Bayo Alabi, Saliman Iyanda, and Suleiman Alao, criminally conspired with one another, entered onto the said land and threatened the complainant not to come onto the said land again. You thereby committed the above mentioned offences." The chief magistrate in her judgement said the prosecutor, Mr. Matthew Ologbonsaye proved his case beyond reasonable doubt.

According to her, the defendants also made willful statements before the police, which formed reliable evidences against them.

According to her, the defendants, did not deny threatening to kill the woman and other ingredients necessary to prove the allegations against them.

Yahaya therefore convicted Alabi, Iyanda and Alao.

The magistrate therefore stated that in view of the pleadings of the defense counsel, Mr. Mohammed Gambari, each of the convicts, was sentenced to two years imprisonment or an option of fine of N15,000.00 on each of the three charges.

She stated that the sentences of two years or fine of N15,000 on each of the three charges were to run concurrently.

Yahaya said, "I pass sentence of two years imprisonment or fine of N15,000 on each of the three accused persons for each of the three charges of criminal conspiracy, criminal trespass and criminal intimidation.

"The total concurrent sentence is two years or total fine of N45,000.00"




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kwara State Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Ilorin Central Mosque     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     Wale Oladepo     Galland Marcias     Sam Okaula     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Bolakale Ayo     Maigida Soludero Transit     Suleiman Idris     Abdulrazaq Magaji     Akanbi-Oke     Vasolar     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Ladi Hassan     Oloje     Abdulfatah Ahmed     Ayeni     Kaiama     Gbajabiamila     Adebara     Oke-Ode     Kwara Hotel     Bello Bature     Muritala Awodun     Ilota     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Nupe     Mufutau Gbadamosi Esuwoye     Alao Ayotunde     Arandun     Saka Onimago     Lanwa     Tunde Akanbi     Yusuf Amuda Gobir     Edu     Medview Airlines     Egbejila     Monkey Pox     Oloyede     Dauda Adesola     Oyin-Zubair     Allocation     Dairo Kunle Paul     Sulyman Buhari     Segun Olawoyin     Sarafadeen Kayode Akorede     Alanamu     Saidu Kawu     Tafida Of Kaiama     Baboko     State Bureau Of Internal Revenue     Amosa     Olusegun Adeniyi     Salary     Suleiman Abubakar     Sarakite     Oyawoye     Ajikobi     Ope Saraki     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Aisha Buhari     Unilorin     Taofeek Sanusi     Eruku     Ilorin South     Ayinke Saka     Hausa     Balogun Fulani     Ajibike Katibi     Mohammed Abdulahi     Titus Suberu-Ajibola     Baruten     Ajasse-Ipo     ARMTI     Salami Adekunle     Joseph Daudu