Kwara pays N89m gratuity to hotel staff

Date: 2017-08-27

Respite has come the way of the old staff of the Kwara Hotels Limited, Ilorin as the state government has expended over N89 million on payment of gratuities owed by the former management of the hotel.

Acting Chief Operating Officer of the hotel, Mrs Olufunmilayo Afusat AbdulKadiri, stated this at weekend in Ilorin.

Abdulkadiri, who said that the state government had paid the bulk of the money owed by the former management of the hotel to the staff, added that all hands were on deck to ensure that the authority paid the outstanding four months' salary, cooperative deductions, 10 per cent annual increment, and union dues.

"The agitating staff are now happy. Almost everybody has received bank alerts for their payment. So, the staff are very happy about government intervention. The situation is very calm now. The gratuities have been paid.

"Government would not relent in its efforts to pay the remaining outstanding owed by the former management, such as cooperative society fund; 10 per cent annual increment; union dues, among others. Government is studying the document submitted to it for verification. I am very sure that, as soon as possible, government will commence another payment," she stated.

According to her, the company handling assets and property of the state government, Harmony Holdings, has commenced short term intervention on the development of the hotel.

The Manager, Food and Beverage, Mr Masud Salami, commended the government for the prompt intervention, and promised not to abuse the confidence reposed on them.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Eleyele     QuickWin     Shagari     IQRA College     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Offa     UITH     Hajj     Shaaba Lafiagi     Tafida Of Kaiama     Cassava Growers' Association     Saka Adeyemo     Taofik Abdulkareem Babaita     Senate Presidency     Photo News     International Aviation College     International Vocational Centre     Oko     Ilofa     Kwara 2015     Bukola Saraki     Dauda Adesola     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Babatunde Ajeigbe     Na'Allah     Balogun Ajikobi     Mustapha Akanbi     CBT     Shao     Aisha Buhari     Sebastine Obasi     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Police Commissioner     Jebba     Olatunji Ibrahim     Jaiz Bank     Saidu Yaro Musa     The Herald     COEASU     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     KFA     Adamu Atta     Taofik Mustapha     Kwara Pdp     Patigi Regatta     Olugbense     Simeon Sule Ajibola     Gbenga Olawepo     Students Union Government     Magaji Are     Nupe     Chief Of Staff     Ayo Salami     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Ope Saraki     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Bayo Onimago     Kwara State Governor     Abdulwahab Ololele     Abdulganiyu Oladosu     Micheal Imodu-Ganmo Road     Abdulkadir Orire     Reuben Paraje     Transition Implementation Committee     Wasiu Odewale     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Toyin Sanusi     Monkey Pox     Idi-Ape     Bayo Lawal     Kwara United     NAWOJ     Baba Isale     Sarah Jubril     Isiaka Oniwa     Ahman Patigi