KWSG Inaugurates White Paper Implementation Committees for Tertiary Institutions

Date: 2017-03-15

The Kwara State Government on Tuesday inaugurated committees for the implementation of the white paper reports on visitation panels to the Kwara State University (KWASU), Malete, College of Education, Oro and College of Arabic and Islamic Legal Studies (CAILS), Ilorin.

The Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Alhaji Isiaka Gold, who inaugurated the committees, recalled that the State government in July, 2016 set up visitation panels to the three institutions as part of efforts to place them on a better pedestal for efficiency.

He explained that following the submission of reports by the panels, the government in line with usual practice raised white paper committees to further simplify implementation of the panels' recommendations.

Continuing, the SSG noted that the State Executive Council (SEC) subsequently considered the reports of both the visitation panels and the white paper committees, and came up with positions on their recommendations.

Alhaji Gold said that in order not to allow the reports go down the drains, it became imperative for the government to inaugurate the Implementation committees to ensure prompt implementation of the reports.

He, therefore, charged members of the committees to pursue the assignment with diligence, objectivity and sense of purpose for positive results to be achieved.

According to him, among the terms of reference the committees are expected to operate is to identify and collate the recommendations contained in the white paper reports as well as State Executive Council's positions on them as they relate to each of the three tertiary institutions.

Additionally, the committees are to ensure expeditious implementation of each of the Council's position as articulated in its conclusion with a view to guaranteeing improved service delivery for the schools. They are also expected to brief the State government periodically on the progress made by the institutions in the implementation of the Council's positions.

The SSG noted that the government is determined to ensure that each of the approved recommendations is properly implemented for the betterment of the institutions and for them to have impacts in the lives of the people.

Prof. Saka Nuhu is to head the Implementation Committee for KWASU, while Mr. A.M. Odetokun, is to serve as Secretary. Other members are Dr. S.O. Ajayi, Alh. M.A Shehu and Alh. A.A Daibu. For COED, Oro, the Implementation Committee has Chief Peter Oyinloye as the Chairman and Alh. AbdulGaniy Opeloyeru as Secretary. Barr. Sulyman Atolagbe, Dr. S.O Ajayi and Barr. O.O. David are members.

The Implementation Committee for CAILS is to be chaired by Prof. Mohammed Ibrahim, while Hajia M.N. Adams will serve as the Secretary. Other members are Alh. Tunde Sidiq and Mrs. M.J. Orire. The Committees have six weeks to submit their reports to the State government.

Speaking on behalf of the committees, Prof. Saka Nuhu thanked the State Governor, Alhaji Abdulfatah Ahmed for giving them the opportunity to serve and promised that they will carry out the assignment diligently.

The university Don emphasized that Kwara State is historically the most educationally advanced in the northern zone of the country and assured that the committees will work hard to ensure the State retains that position.

He, however, expressed hope that the State government will be able to provide necessary funding for the implementation of the committees’ recommendations.

Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

International Vocational Centre     Kannike     Age AbdulKareem     Senate President     Kwara North     Ahmed Idris Mohammed     Local Government Pension Board     Jimba Babatunde     Zaratu Umar     Fulani     Simeon Ajibola     Ibrahim Labaika     Bayo Ajia     Gbemisola Saraki     Oniyangi     Hamidat Sulyman-Yusuf     Ekiti     Salihu Jibril Garbi     Lafiagi     Amina Susa'a De Ahmed     Dairo Kunle Paul     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Baaziki Sulaiman     Ishaq Oloyede     Falokun-Oja     Esuwoye     Borgu     Kayode Ibrahim     Femtech     KWIRS     Ilorin East     Savannah Centre For Diplomacy, Democracy And Development     Na'Allah     KWASAA     Salary     Patience Jonathan     Saad Omo'ya     Yunus Lawal     Maryam A. Garuba     Abubakar B.M     Hajj     Tunde Saad     Solomon Edojah     Kunle Suleiman     Sunday Fagbemi     Ayeni     Kwara State Government     College Of Arabic And Islamic Legal Studies     Erin-ile     KWACOBPA     Olusegun Adeniyi     Jimoh Olusola Imam     Dele Momodu     Lak Jimoh     Third Estate     Ope Saraki     Ajibike Katibi     Boko Haram     Kale Bayero     Ita-Ore     Alloy Chukwuemeka     Kwara     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Tayo Alao     Kale Ayo     Oniwasi Agbaye     Sabo-Oke     Igbomina     Computer Based Test     Bayo Onimago     Gobir     Halimat Yusuf     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     IEDPU     Awodun     David Adesina     GANZY