No interference with local government affairs in Kwara - State Assembly

Date: 2020-06-30

The Kwara State House of Assembly has reacted sharply to insinuations on the extension of the 16 local government chairmen in the state by the state governor, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq.

A statement in Ilorin, by the media aide to the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Ibrahim Sheriff, said: "the legislature is convinced to have acted ideally over the local government chairmen's matter."

"The Assembly considers the extension of their suspension by the executive arm of government. Investigations into allegations against them are yet to be concluded by the anti-graft agency, notwithstanding their defection to the ruling All Progressives Congress party.

"The recent development simply signals a new dawn in Kwara State where social-political affiliation won't be an immunity against illegality, it reflects our commitment to pursue justice for the people, regardless of political motivation, the statement added.

"We want to state categorically clear that No member of the 9th Kwara Assembly is by any way or means, in-charge of local government revenue, either directly or through a proxy.

"It is also to be made clear that no member of the House interferes in the running or finances of the respective governments as it does not form part of their statutory functions or duties, the statement added.

It challenged anyone with contrary facts to this effect to present it for public scrutiny.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Omoniyi M. Ayinla     Rotimi Atere     Isiaka Saka Opobiyi     Sulyman Atolagbe Alege     Ahmed Mohammed Rifun     Bashir Badawi     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Ibrahim Labaika     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Kwara Coalition Of Business And Professional Associations     Ijakadi     Bankole Omisore     Kunle Okeowo     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Erin-ile     Durosinlohun Atiku     NAWOJ     Tsaragi-Share     Sola Saraki University     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Pius Abioje     Adijat Adebiyi     IDPU     Emir Of Ilorin     Jebba     Idowu Aremu     Split Diamond Interchange     Kwara United     Dele Belgore     Abubakar Baba     KWACOBPA     Ilorin Emirate     Afonja     Abdulrazaq Adebayo     Kisira     Isiaka Gold     Saliu Alamoyo     Demola Banu     Amusement Park     Tsaragi/Share     Saad Omo Iya     Balogun-Ojomu     Lawyers Unite Against Corruption     Gobirawa     Otunba Taiwo Joseph     Halidu Danbaba     Ahmad Lawan     Lanre Issa-Onilu     Students Union Government     Vasolar Consortium     Abiodun Jacob Ajiboye     Olugbense     Share-Tsaragi     Post Utme     Gurei     Yekeen Alabi     March 28     Vasolar     Maigida     Abdulazeez Arowona     Labaeka     Lanre Issa Onilu     Lola Ashiru     Valsolar-Kwara Company Limited     Moses Adekanye     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Ekweremadu     Ahmad Ali     Laduba     Riskat Opakunle     Patience Jonathan     Royal FM     Funmilayo Isiaka Oniwa     Mamatu Abdullahi     Adebara     Olatunji Bamgbola     AbdulHamid Adi