Health workers declare indefinite strike nationwide

Date: 2017-09-21

The Joint Health Sector Union (JOHESU) on Wednesday declared a nationwide indefinite strike.

Chairman of the Union, Mr. Biobelemoye Josiah, who made the disclosure during a media briefing in Ilorin, the Kwara State capital, said the strike will become effective on Thursday, September 21.

Josiah said the Union had issued another seven-day ultimatum on Thursday, September 14, 2017, to again draw the attention of the government to their demands but nothing meaningful was achieved with the ultimatum.

His words, "This lackadaisical attitude of the government has necessitated the resolve of JOHESU to call out all our members nationwide to withdraw their services and stay at home with effect from midnight of today (Wednesday) even after waiting patiently until this hour on the approval for adjustments of CONHESS. However, rallies and meetings should be held at all hospital premises every other day.

"We once again appeal to FG to tow the oath of honour and implement all agreements, memorandum of understanding, and courts judgments, while we urge our members at the tertiary health level to make the strike total, and comprehensive.

"In the event that no appreciable response is received from the government within 15 days of commencement of the strike by the Federal Tertiary Health Institutions, all our members in the states, and local governments nationwide are directed to join the action by September 28," Josiah said.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Aisha Abodunrin Ibrahim     Boko Haram     Kwasu     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Obasanjo     Kisra     Bola Iyabo Ibiyeye Adisa     Ajase-Ipo     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Olaitan Adefila     April 11     Olayinka Olaogun     Bahago     Olatunde Olukoya     Abdulsalam Firdaous Amosa     Abdullahi Atanda     Yusuf Abubakar     Kannike     Jaiz Bank     Shehu Jimoh     Ishaq Oloyede     Goodluck Jonathan     Offa Poly     Students Union Government     Kisira     KWASAA     Tunji Oyawoye     Akorede     Ilorin International Airport     Allocation     Mohammed Katsina Ahmed     Balogun Gambari     Adeleke Ogungbe     Abdulwahab Oba     Kupchi Hosea Maxwell     Abdulfatai Ahmed     Post-utme     Belgore     Ola Falade     NURTW     Haruna Tambiri Mohammed     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Anilelerin     Local Government Pension Board     Balogun Fulani     Bankole Omishore     Nupe     Gbugbu     Kwara 2019     Valsolar Consortium     Share/Tsaragi     Oke-opin     Kayode Ogunlowo     UITH     Amuda Musbau     Maja     Oju Ekun Sarumi     Saka Asiat Ayinke     Kwara Apc     Share     Tsaragi     Saka Abimbola Isau     Ilorin Descendants Progressive Union     George Innih     Ibrahim Oniye     Salman Alada     Kwara State Government     Muhammadu Gobir     2017 Budget     Presidential Election     Dele Momodu     Dairo Kunle Paul     Onilorin     Musa Alhassan Buge     Kwabes     Bola Shagaya