Profiles of the New Commissioner Nominees

Date: 2019-10-09

Kwara State Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq on Wednesday sent to the House of Assembly a list of six additional commissioner-nominees, comprising top-notch professionals and administrators with rich political backgrounds.

This comes a few weeks after AbdulRazaq unveiled a list of four women commissioner-nominees, including the 26-year-old Joanna Kolo.

The new nominees are Barrister Salman Jawondo (Asa); Lafia Aliyu Kora Sabi (Baruten); Dr. Raji Razaq (Ekiti); Architect Aliyu Mohammed Saifudeen (Kaiama); Wahab Agbaje (Whyte, Offa); and Murtala Olarewaju (Oyun).

With 29 years of post-qualification experience as a lawyer, Jawondo is almost synonymous with the longstanding struggle to change the political status quo in Kwara with his numerous court cases and advocacy to challenge what he considered the anti-people decisions of the previous administrations.

Barrister Jawondo is an alumnus of the University of Lagos where he read Law between 1986 and 1989. He was at the Nigerian Law School between 1989 and 1990. A disciplinarian and no-nonsense lawyer, he is a member of the Legal Practitionersí Disciplinary Committee in the North Central Zone and was Chairman of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Ilorin Branch, between 2009 and 2011. He is the founder of the Jawondo &Co., Legal Practitioners. He is from Asa Local Government Area of Kwara State.

A former chairman of Baruten Local Government and a grassroots politician, Aliyu Kora Sabi has a Bachelorís degree in Education (Guidance and Counselling), PostGraduate Diploma in Public Administration and Masters degree in Public Administration from Universities of Ado Ekiti and Ilorin, among others. He taught in various schools and served as a senior administrative officer in his Baruten local government for nearly two decades.

Sabi, who was born in 1970, is from Yashikira town of Baruten Local Government area of the state.

Born in 1979, Raji Razaq is the Medical Director of the Comprehensive Health Centre Agwara, Agwara Local Government Area of Niger State.

A polyglot, Dr Razaq attended the University of Ilorin for his Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery between 2000 and 2006; the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ife, for his Master in Public Health between 2015 and 2017. He was the NYSC Chief Medical Director, Kebbi State Camp Clinic in 2007 and an aspirant for the House of Representatives in Ekiti/Oke Ero/Irepodun/and Isin Federal Constituency.

He hails from Osi in Ekiti Local Government area of the state.

Architect Saifudeen hails from Kaiama Local Government area of Kwara State. He holds a Bacherlorís degree in Architecture and Master of Science in Architecture - both from the University of Jos between 1993 and 1999.

He is a member of the Nigerian Institute of Architects (NIA) and Architects Registration Council of Nigeria (ARCON).

Saifudeen has worked with various local and multinational firms in his area of expertise, including French-owned Bouygues Nigeria Limited where he was Assistant Design Manager; Lebanese Sageto Limited where he was Project Coordinator; and Crushed Rock Industries Nigeria Limited owned by Germans. He is the Managing Partner at Constyle Services Limited; Chairman of Fiasminat Limited; a partner at Kab Development Services. Saifudeen is an accredited resource person with the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) and a member of the Education Sub-Committee of the Nigerian Institute of Architects.

Murtala Olarewaju is a grassroots politician, an administrator and a teacher. He attended Federal College ofEducation Kontangora for his National Certificate of Education; Kwara State Polytechnic for his Higher National Diploma; and Ladoke Akintola University for his Master in Public Administration. He also has Teacher Grade II Certificate from New Bussa Teachers College Niger State.

He taught at various schools between 1982 and 1998. He was an administrative officer with the Kwara State Local Government Service Commission between 1998 and 2017. He retired as Deputy Director of Administration in 2017. Olarewaju hails from Ijagbo town in Oyun Local Government Area of the state.

A successful businessman and administrator, Wahab Agbaje (Whyte) holds a Masterís degree in Public Administration from Ladoke Akintola University. He also bagged High National Diploma in Accounting from Kwara State Polytechnic and National Diploma in Accounting from Federal Polytechnic Nasawara.

Agbaje is the Managing Director of Whyte and Associates Nigeria Limited. He is the Community Representative of the Governing Council of Federal Polytechnic Offa. A senior member at the Institute of Diplomacy and Conflict Management, Agbaje has had at least 12 years experience in educational and business administration, conflict resolution, agriculture, revenue mobilisation, construction and contract negotiations.

Whyte, as he is fondly called, has been a grassroots politician since 1990. He was a member of the Contact and Mobilisation Committee for President Muhammadu Buhari Campaign Organisation (2018) and Director of Contact and Mobilisation Committee of the AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq Campaign Organisation (2018). Agbaje was National Vice Chairman of the defunct All Nigeria Peopleís Party (ANPP. He was elected state chairman of the party in 2006. He was also councillor-elect Shawo South West Ward, Offa Local Government in 1996.



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Chief Of Staff     Hamidu Olowo     Adebayo Salami     Makama Of Ilorin     Saba Mamman Daniel     Baruten     Oke-Kura     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Sarakite     Elekoyangan     Veterinary Teaching Hospital     Kwara North     Mahmud Ajeigbe     Garuba Alikinla Shittu     Oyun     Clara Nwachukwu     Mohammed Tunde-Jimoh     Jani Ibrahim     Rasaq Jimoh     Yusuf Abubakar     Tsaragi-Share     Abdulrahman Abdulrasaq     Najim Yaasin     Adegoke Bamidele     Lawal Arinola Kudirat     Ubandawaki     Gbemi Saraki     Yahaya Jibril Usman     Alimi Abdulrazaq     Orisun Igbomino     Abdulrosheed Okiki     Age AbdulKareem     Allocation     National Association Of Nigerian Students     Shonga     Salihu Yahaya     Muhammed Danjuma     Ilorin Emirate     NSCIA     Taofik Mustapha     Abubakar Baba Sulaiman     Oyedun Juliana Funke     Muftau Akanbi Oke     Yunus Oniboki     Ahmad Lawan     Nurudeen Muhammed     Alapado     Onilorin Of Ilorin     Oke-Ogun     Abubakar Aliagan     Belgore     Salihu Jibril Garbi     Riskat Opakunle     Kwara Polytechnic     Gbenga Olawepo     Shehu Jimoh     Yakub Lai Gobir     Yeketi     Durosinlohun Kawu     GRA     QuickWin     Lukman Adeloyin     Bankole Omishore     Sola Saraki Educational Foundation     Baaziki Sulaiman     National Pilot     Abubakar Abdulraheem     Aishat Sulu-Gambari     KWSIEC     Bukola Saraki     Olusegun Adeniyi     Abdulkarim Adisa     Ayodele Kuburat Olaosebikan     Tsado Manman     Omoniyi     Rapheal Ashaolu     Oke-Ode