Minimum wage: Why we can't heed labour's demand - Kwara govt

Date: 2020-02-06

Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq of Kwara state. Kwara State Government has given reasons why it can't accept the demands of the state's organised labour unions wholly over the new national minimum wage.

The state governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, in a statement signed by Rafiu Ajakaye, Chief Press Secretary to the governor, said if it heeded the proposal made by labour on new minimum wage, Kwara would spend 85% of its allocation on public sector workers alone, up from the current 75%. He added that the remaining over 3.450million Kwarans will struggle with the remaining 15% percent.

"This is very scary and hardly sustainable if we want to develop", he said. He noted that the state government has made fact-based presentations to the labour unions on what it can afford without going to borrow to pay salary.

"The proposal includes that no worker will earn below the N30,000 minimum wage enacted by the Minimum Wage Act. We also made suggestions on the consequential adjustments as they affect the other cadres", he stated.

He further stated that the state government would soon make labour a new offer "based on the emerging realities of the state." According to him, "it is important to note that the 2020 budget had been predicated on $57 per barrel of crude oil. But today the price of crude oil has fallen to $54 and that means the financial projection of the country and indeed the state has been seriously altered."

He urged the workers' unions to kindly see reasons why it cannot afford to go borrowing to pay salary in the face of yawning infrastructural deficits and underdevelopment in the state.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Kwara Restoration Project     Saka Adeyemo     Sam Okaula     Sabi     Ijagbo Health Centre     Shero     Albert Ogunsola     Jimba Babatunde     Yusuf Amuda Gobir     Transition Implementation Committee     Bukola Ajikobi     Oladimeji Thompson     Salihu Alhaji Musa     Ilorin West     Coronavirus     Olohungbebe     Apaokagi     Mohammed Haruna     Muhammadu Buhari     Salary     Code Of Conduct     Kpotum Mohammed Baba     Baba Isale     Sango-UITH Road     Rafiu Ajakaye     Shehu Jimoh     Sheriff Olanrewaju     Mogaji Aare     Kwara Liberation Group     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Jani Ibrahim     Ishaq Salman     Alao Ayotunde     Y.A. Abdulkareem     Bio Ibrahim     Bahago     Salake     Funmilayo Zubair     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Mufutau Olatinwo     Hassan A. Saliu     Ahman Patigi     SGBN     20 Billion Bond     Boko Haram     Kwara State Fish Farmers Association     Sunday Fagbemi     Gabriel Fashanu     Awili Pedro     Salman Alada     Saidu Yaro Musa     Elelu     Agbarigidoma     Saad Omo\'ya     Adamu Atta     Muritala Awodun     Sebastine Obasi     Bashir Badawi     Oke-Odo     Bilikis Oladimeji     AGF Abdulrazak     Ibrahim Gambari     Offa     Ayinde Oyepitan     Aisha Buhari     Tafida Of Kaiama     Senate Presidency     Balogun Fulani     Funmilayo Oniwa     Sarah Alade     Owode Market     Mufti Of Ilorin     Yoruba     Tanke     Biliaminu Aliu     Plat Technologies