Gunmen abduct three in Kwara, demand N50m

Date: 2020-01-04

Gunmen kidnapped three indigenes of Obbo-Aiyegunle in the Ekiti local Government Area of Kwara State on New Year's Eve.

According to the former chairman of the council, Chief Ezekiel Gbadeyan, two men and a woman travelling home for New Year were abducted by the hoodlums along Osi-Obbo-Aiyegunle road.

According to sources, the fourth person escaped with serious injuries.

It was learnt on Friday that the trio’s abductors had allegedly demanded N50m from their families for their release.

Gbadeyan lamented a spate of kidnappings in the area. He said, "That was the fourth in the last few weeks but hunters have always been preventing innocent souls from being kidnapped.

"The hunters have been our saving grace from the menace of these herders in the area.

"These pathetic occurrences are due to the sorry state of our road as vehicles cannot move freely. Therefore, we are appealing to the state government to assist us in rehabilitating the road.

"Also, the road that links Obbo-Aiyegunle in Kwara to Ekiti State is also awful. We use this medium to urge the authorities concerned to come to our rescue."

Spokesman for the police in the state Ajayi Okasanmi confirmed the incident.

"We are working seriously to ensure the release of the victims from captivity," he said.




Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Binta Abubakar-Mora     Sunday Fagbemi     Sandal     Osi     Onikijipa     Saad Omo Iya     Orisun Igbomina     Saba Mamman Daniel     Ibrahim Gambari     Quareeb     Local Government     Afolabi-Oshatimehin     Temitope Ogunbanke     Igbomina     Bond     Odo-Owa     Bilikisu Gambari     Kwara State Governor     Shonga     Adeleke Ogungbe     Rotimi Atere     Lanre Issa-Onilu     CKNG     Mashood Dauda     Gwanara     Shao     Ezekiel Yissa Benjamin     Harmony Holdings     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Baba-Isale     Abdulwahab Ololele     Sherif Sagaya     Olomu     Salman Alada     EFCC     Pius Abioje     Iliasu     Clara Nwachukwu     Surajudeen Akanbi     Saad Omo\'ya     Modupe Oluwole     Olatunde Olukoya     Olofa Of Offa     Kwara Politics     KWASAA     Kisra     Saadu Alanamu     Students Union Government     Dele Belgore     Tunji Moronfoye     Musa Abdullahi     Ahmad Ali     Mohammed Khadijat Kubura     CCEPE     Funmilayo Oniwa     Ojo Fadumila     Grillo     Odolaye Aremu     Oloyede     Aliyu Salihu     Balogun Ajikobi     Baba Isale     Umar Danladi Shero     Radio Kwara     Abdulwahab Oba     Alabi Lawal     Share/Tsaragi     Allocation     Senate Presidency     Kwara 2019     Jimba Babatunde     Mustapha AbdulGaniyu     Jimoh Saadudeen Muhammed     Kwara State Government     Lai Gobir     Hassan Saliu