Russia 2018: Gov. Ahmed Hails Super Eagles' Qualification, Seeks Early Preparations

Date: 2017-10-09

Kwara State Governor, Dr Abdulfatah Ahmed, has congratulated the Super Eagles for qualifying for the Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup.

The governor in a statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Alhaji Abdulwahab Oba, on Sunday in Ilorin, said the Super Eaglesí qualification has once more demonstrated the nationís strength in football, which made Nigeria the first African country to qualify for the FIFA mundial in Russia.

The Super Eagles qualified for its 6th World Cup appearance with a match to spare after beating Zambia 1-0 in Uyo on Saturday.

Governor Ahmed commended the players for their doggedness and determination to fly Nigeria's flag at the Mundial.

Dr Ahmed called for immediate commencement of preparations "so that Nigeria won't just make up the number at the biggest football fiesta but further make Africa proud".

Governor Ahmed promised to further make the state enabling for sports development by ensuring that the Stateís indoor sports hall is renovated to world standard before the end of his tenure and urged the Federal Government to monitor strictly the team's preparation for the World Cup because of unity sports generally bring to Nigerians.


Click to add/read Comments



Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Esuwoye     Orisun Igbomino     Imam Gambari     Oni Adebayo     Onilorin     Sebastine Obasi     Shonga Farm Project     Bashirat Bola Bello     Abubakar Olusola Saraki     Saadu Alanamu     KWATMA     Mohammed Kamaludeen     Kayode Zubair     Isin     Oloyede     Emir Of Ilorin     Kamaldeen Ajibade     Ibrahim Issa Jetti     NYSC     Yunus Lawal     Vasolar     Michael Ologundea     Isiaka Yusuf     JAAC     Saraki     Press Release     Mohammed Abduraheem     Albert Ogunsola     Kayode Oyin-Zubair     Ibrahim Kayode Adeyemi     Kulende-UITH     Odo-Owa     Plat Technologies     Akeem Olatunji     Senate President     Lukman Adeloyin     Gbugbu     Women For Change And Development Initiative     Yoruba     Onilu     Ubandawaki     Oja-Oba     Abdulfatai Salman Baakini     Seni Saraki     Kwara Muslim Pilgrims Welfare Board     Musa Yeketi     Ojo Fadumila     Quranic Recitation Competition     Ladi Hassan     Ijagbo     Kwara 2015     Shehu Jimoh     Ilorin South     Jamiu Oyawoye     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Local Government Pension Board     Saidu Kawu     Hamidat Sulyman-Yusuf     Medview Airlines     Salman Alada     Mohammed Lawal     Oba Abdulraheem     Sidikat Uthman Ajibola     Bamidele Adegoke Oladimeji     IF-K     Ishola Balogun Fulani     Christopher Odetunde     Ilorin East     Bature Bello     Kawu     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Saka Keji     Alimi     Jimoh Olusola Imam     Lai Gobir     Funmilayo Oniwa