30 illegal miners killed in Kwara

Date: 2017-05-06

No fewer than 30 illegal miners may have lost their lives in recent times in Kaima Local Government area of Kwara State.

A member of the state House of Assembly, Hon. Muhammed Baaziki, representing Kaima State Constituency in the House disclosed this.

Baaziki, who spoke on the floor of the House on Tuesday, decried the activities of illegal miners scattered all over the state.

The lawmaker said, "The illegal miners use hazardous blast to blow open the mines and this usually have adverse effects on the health of workers on site, who normally do not wear protective gear.

There was a time the locals counted more than 30 corpses at the mine site."The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Ali Ahmad, frowned on a situation where the state was being shortchanged by the illegal miners.

Ahmad decried the impunity with which the miners operate by making it impossible to ascertain the volume of what they mine, resulting in the loss of the 13 percent derivation that should accrue to the state.

He, however, pledged the resolve of the house to ensure that the activities of the illegal miners were curtailed and the state got the appropriate revenue for all its natural resources mined. "It is saddening that Kwara has been adjudged the state with worst cases of illegal mining in the whole of Africa. This is an embarrassing statistics," he stressed.


Click to add/read Comments

Cloud Tag: What's trending

Click on a word/phrase to read more about it.

Taofik Abdulkareem     Baakini     Nurudeen Mohammed     Kwara Central     Suleiman Idris     Yusuf Olaolu Ali     Council Of The Wise     TIC     Mamatu Abdullahi     Women For Change And Development Initiative     IDPU     Aisha Buhari     Oniyangi Kunle Sulaiman     Idris Garba     Mohammed Yisa     Amuda Aluko     Wole Oke     Kwara 2019     Abdulraufu Mustapha     School Of Nursing     Mahmud Babatunde Baker     Ayinde Oyepitan     Alao Ayotunde     Sobi FM     Balogun Ajikobi     Ladi Hassan     Segun Adeniyi     Shaaba Lafiagi     Geri-Alimi Split Diamond Interchange     Femtech     Salary     Isaac Gbenle     Local Government Pension Board     Kawu     Solomon Edojah     NTA Ilorin     Niyi Osundare     Umar Bayo Abdulwahab     Wale Oladepo     Apaola     Minister     Salihu Ajia     Abdullahi Imam Abdullahi     Niguel Gallando Marcias     Muritala Awodun     Edu     Solomon Edoja     Soffiyyallah Kamaldeen     Bola Shagaya     Oba Abu     NYSC     Bolakale Ayo     Chemiroy Nigeria Limited     Oluwole Dupe     Olatunji Ayeni     Adamu B. Yaqubu     Dauda Adeniran Adeshola     Ilorin South     Mahmud Durosinlohun Atiku     A.G.F Abdulrasaq     Yusuf Babatunde Abdulwahab     Lai Gobir     Bamikole Omishore     Alaiye     Florence Saraki     Olatunji Ibrahim     Idiagbon     Omu Aran     Afonja     Kishira     Tunde Saad     Joseph Daudu     Kudirat Arinola Lawal     Abdulrazaq Magaji     SUBEB     Vasolar Consortium     Abdulhakeem Amao